Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    07 Dec 18
    Posts
    17
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    About six months ago attended a WRU level one coaching course. Ive been involved in coaching for 30 as head coach at a decent though not great level (Chapionship in Wales) am currently quite heavily involved with Jnr rugby so decided to do my level one.

    Anyway this is the question, i expressed my views on the course and the ref taking it totally disagreed, so it appears ive been coaching it wrong ?

    Lineout, opposing side step back from countering the drive and do not engage. Two lifters bind on the jumper as he lands but the jumper is the lead player (lifters do not lead). The jumper on landing does not transfer the ball but other players bind and drive on the trio. The ball is still in possession of the jumper it is not transfered he is the lead player. They proceed downfield in that formation though no maul is formed as no defenders have engaged. Penalty yes or no ??

  2. #2

    Referees in Wales
    tewdric's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Gwent
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    18 Sep 18
    Posts
    134
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    25

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Penalty for what? Play on as far as I can see. The relevant law is 18:37:

    The lineout ends when:

    The ball or a player in possession of the ball:
    leaves the lineout; or
    enters the area between the touchline and the five-metre line; or
    goes beyond the 15-metre line.
    A ruck or maul forms and all of the feet of all of the players in the ruck or maul move beyond the mark of touch.
    The ball becomes unplayable

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    07 Dec 18
    Posts
    17
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    He was claiming that as the ball was being driven in a maul formation and as the opposition was not engaged it was illegal, truck and trailer, my opinion was that as the ball was in possession of the lead player and even though a "scrum style formation" had been built without opposition involvement it was legal as the ball had not been transferred.

    Just a thought (he did not mention it). Can a flying wedge only be formed/penalised from a free kick/penaty because this has all the characteristics except for origin?

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    269
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    60

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    There was a 2014 clarification in law on teams not engaging in a maul following a line-out. In summary - in the scenario you describe (ball still at the front) - play on...

    Can’t find it on the WR site - but here’s a reference to kentrefs https://www.kentrefs.co.uk/law-clari...s/#toggle-id-6

    Truck and trailer is usually used to describe the situation where the ball-carrier detaches from the back of a maul (ending the maul) and then rejoins (which is accidental offside)
    Last edited by mcroker; 21-05-19 at 21:05.

  5. #5

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,472
    Thanks (Received)
    107
    Likes (Received)
    1514

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Blindside View Post
    Lineout, opposing side step back from countering the drive and do not engage.
    Picking up this point, most people argue that stepping back from the line is illegally leaving the lineout. IMHO that is an overly legalistic judgement. They should legally be allowed to refuse to form a maul without having to give the opponents a free rein to charge down field.
    (A one man tackle is, of course, legal if no maul forms.)
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    269
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    60

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    The clarification linked above would agree with you

  7. #7

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,511
    Thanks (Received)
    57
    Likes (Received)
    881

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Blindside View Post
    About six months ago attended a WRU level one coaching course. Ive been involved in coaching for 30 as head coach at a decent though not great level (Chapionship in Wales) am currently quite heavily involved with Jnr rugby so decided to do my level one.

    Anyway this is the question, i expressed my views on the course and the ref taking it totally disagreed, so it appears ive been coaching it wrong ?

    Lineout, opposing side step back from countering the drive and do not engage. Two lifters bind on the jumper as he lands but the jumper is the lead player (lifters do not lead). The jumper on landing does not transfer the ball but other players bind and drive on the trio. The ball is still in possession of the jumper it is not transfered he is the lead player. They proceed downfield in that formation though no maul is formed as no defenders have engaged. Penalty yes or no ??

    No. The ball carrier is available to be tackled. Unless you wish to get pedantic about npot being able to be taxckled from 45 degrees on "his" side maybe.

    However - cue the arguments/debates regarding flying wedges for the next 15 pages.


    didds

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    07 Dec 18
    Posts
    17
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Thank you.

    I thought id lost the plot.

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,262
    Thanks (Received)
    106
    Likes (Received)
    1262

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    ball stays at front - play on.

    ball legally transferred to back - they must use it. If they don't, scrum, ball carrying team's feed.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    07 Dec 18
    Posts
    17
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    If its transferred and driven its a penalty.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •