Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

      
  1. #11
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    283
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    61

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Blindside View Post
    If its transferred and driven its a penalty.
    See 2014 clarification...

    if they drove forward with the ball at the back (did not release the ball), the referee would award a scrum for “accidental offside” rather than PK for obstruction

  2. #12

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,908
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    333

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    Picking up this point, most people argue that stepping back from the line is illegally leaving the lineout. IMHO that is an overly legalistic judgement. They should legally be allowed to refuse to form a maul without having to give the opponents a free rein to charge down field.
    The participating LO players can always stay in the line and move forward or back to avoid creating a maul; they don't have to leave the LO.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    ball stays at front - play on. ball legally transferred to back - they must use it. If they don't, scrum, ball carrying team's feed.
    That's how I understand it. As I see it, in a nutshell there are only 3 options:

    1. Opposition stepping out of the LO - PK for leaving the LO early.
    2. Opposition create a legal gap (see above reply to OB) and the ball is at the front - "Play On"
    3. Opposition create a legal gap and the ball is at the back - "Use it" and possibly accidental offside if the BC runs forward into his own player.

  3. #13
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    07 Dec 18
    Posts
    23
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by mcroker View Post
    See 2014 clarification...

    if they drove forward with the ball at the back (did not release the ball), the referee would award a scrum for “accidental offside” rather than PK for obstruction

    My apologies you are correct, thanks.

  4. #14

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,299
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by mcroker View Post
    See 2014 clarification...

    if they drove forward with the ball at the back (did not release the ball), the referee would award a scrum for “accidental offside” rather than PK for obstruction
    so who gets the scrum feed?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #15

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,908
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    333

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    so who gets the scrum feed?
    The non-offending side.

    Sorry, but it makes no sense to reward the ball carrying side for an accidental offside. If there's an accidental offside, there's a scrum and the non-offending side get the put in.

  6. #16

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,808
    Thanks (Received)
    141
    Likes (Received)
    1225
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    so who gets the scrum feed?
    Fishing for something?

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  7. #17
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    283
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    61

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Fishing for something?
    This would be why I didn’t respond. Although I notice the laws also don’t specify who gets the feed for an accidental offside. However still not biting...

  8. #18

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,299
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Fishing for something?
    just the answer
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #19

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,548
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    894

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    if the clarification/laws dont actually spell this out its just another example of how despite a rewrite the laws are still a shambles.

    Q: what wolpuld everybody on the pitch and watching expect?

    There's your answer.

    And aside from barrack room lawyers and other smart arses on the pitch, nobody would expect a scrum to the side that just created the accidental obstruction.

    And FWIW while the laws/clarification do not say its the non effending team, neither do they say offending team...

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •