Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

      
  1. #21

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,475
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1335

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    https://laws.worldrugby.org/?domain=...arification=34

    does part 3 of the attached help?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #22

    Referees in England
    Lee Lifeson-Peart's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    (South) Yorkshire Referee's Society
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    12 Mar 08
    Posts
    7,297
    Thanks (Received)
    46
    Likes (Received)
    683

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Rob

    Link just goes to WR home page - the one with language buttons.
    It's like a big tide of jam coming towards us, but jam made out of old women......Father Dougal McGuire 1998

  3. #23

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,475
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1335

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Lifeson-Peart View Post
    Rob

    Link just goes to WR home page - the one with language buttons.
    Hit the English button and see what happens, or have a look at clarification 9 of 2006
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #24

    Referees in England
    Lee Lifeson-Peart's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    (South) Yorkshire Referee's Society
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    12 Mar 08
    Posts
    7,297
    Thanks (Received)
    46
    Likes (Received)
    683

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Hit the English button and see what happens, or have a look at clarification 9 of 2006
    As I read it Clarification 9 from 2006 is not the same and makes no mention of a scrum for accidental offside as the "clarification" from 2014 does.
    It's like a big tide of jam coming towards us, but jam made out of old women......Father Dougal McGuire 1998

  5. #25

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,835
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1776

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Lifeson-Peart View Post

    I genuinely wanted to help green sort it out and told them I'd send them the clarification but now I'm a bit stuck.

    So. I think I'm right, green think I'm wrong, matey and his 4 ref mates think I'm wrong and depending on who refs them later and if they pull the non compete and are rewarded then that'll confirm it.

    Why is the 9th Sept 2014 Clarification not on WR? It's all a bit shit.
    Unfortunately it wasn't a clarification, it was an email -- and it was never published on the WR website

    Here's a previous thread where someone asked where it was....

    http://www.rugbyrefs.com/showthread....of-the-Lineout

    the only place you can send your coaches to is rugbyrefs.com
    Last edited by crossref; 4 Weeks Ago at 23:11.

  6. #26

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,475
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1335

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Lifeson-Peart View Post
    As I read it Clarification 9 from 2006 is not the same and makes no mention of a scrum for accidental offside as the "clarification" from 2014 does.
    Agreed but at least it gives a basis that Red haven't done anything illegal.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  7. #27

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,553
    Thanks (Received)
    61
    Likes (Received)
    490
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    LLP

    This is in the Oz Game Management Guidelines:
    Teams deciding not to engage the maul at lineout
    • If the defenders in the line out choose to not engage the line out drive by leaving the line out as a group,
    then PK to attacking team.
    • If the defenders in the line out choose to not engage the line out drive by simply opening up a gap and
    creating space, and not leaving the line out, the following process should be followed:
    o The attacking team would need to keep the ball with the front player if they were to drive down-
    field (therefore play on, general play – defenders could either engage to form a maul, or tackle
    the ball carrier.)
    o If the attacking team immediately passes the ball back to a player behind the front player or at the
    rear of the group, the referee would tell them to "Use it" which they must do immediately.
    o If the team drives forward with the ball at the back (and ignores the referee’s call to “Use it”), the
    referee should award a scrum to the defending team for "accidental offside" (rather than PK for
    obstruction).

    Found here: https://australia.rugby/participate/referee/laws


    I know we are down under and it may not convince your rogue coach...but it's not as if we are a nation going totally against WR!
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  8. #28

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,835
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1776

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Versions are on several different sites aroind the world ... (With slightly different wording !)

    https://www.google.com/search?q=%E2%...obile&ie=UTF-8
    Last edited by crossref; 4 Weeks Ago at 08:11.

  9. #29

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    765
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    204

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Lifeson-Peart View Post
    Sorry to revive this.

    Home team conceded 2 tries today trying to not compete at a 5m to oppos.

    First one, red catch transfer and don't move, green don't engage. I call "use it". They do, break off back and score. It's last play of first half. Green skipper quizzes me at half time and I am approached by coach. I asked him to go away telling him I've given the captain an explanation. Unbelievably they do it again 10mins into 2nd half. Red catch, don't transfer and break out the front and score.

    Green are pissed with me.

    Anyway after game coach seeks me out to talk about the lineout/maul non-compete. I talk him through the clarification saying it was from before last World Cup 2015.

    Anyway a couple of points of concern.

    Clarification is nowhere to be found on WR website - my explanation was almost verbatim from Kent refs website above. I recall going through clarification at a Society meeting.

    Green assured me referees had given them a PK for adopting the same tactic - not sure what oppos did - assuming oppos infringed as per Kent refs then it should be scrum.

    Another bloke who earwigged on my conversation with coach said there were 4 refs sat with him who said I was wrong and it should have been a PK to green. Then we're into realms of me saying "well they're wrong, and I'm right" so I gave up.

    I genuinely wanted to help green sort it out and told them I'd send them the clarification but now I'm a bit stuck.

    So. I think I'm right, green think I'm wrong, matey and his 4 ref mates think I'm wrong and depending on who refs them later and if they pull the non compete and are rewarded then that'll confirm it.

    Why is the 9th Sept 2014 Clarification not on WR? It's all a bit shit.
    Clearly the responses on here confirm that you are correct. What concerns me is that other referees have been penalising with a PK. It sounds to me that an urgent ‘refresh’ is required at your next society meeting (plus communicating via whatever means your society has because I realise few officials actually attend meetings) so that consistency is achieved. If you still want the club concerned to be brought up to speed that perhaps your society secretary could make contact. At the last resort give the club the RFU Laws contact details.

  10. #30

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,835
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1776

    Default Re: Question on driving maul at a lineout ??

    but is the 2014 email, that WR never put on their website still valid ? How would we know ?
    Certainly that's what I am using, but I am an old fart.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •