Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: "Quickly taken lineout" TOS

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,672
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1609

    Default "Quickly taken lineout" TOS

    - black player has the ball in touch, and is shaping for a QTI

    - you decide there are 2 players from each team at the line of touch so you let the teams know the QTI is no longer an option.

    - Right after you call this the black player throws the ball in straight along the line of touch to the front receiver at 5.5m.

    - Red was sauntering back assuming a more relaxed set up to the line out. They start crying that you had called off the QTI.

    Q: would you play on, calling this a lineout, or would you re-set?

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,672
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1609

    Default Re: "Quickly taken lineout" TOS

    I give up, I can't work out how to make this into a poll

  3. #3

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    1,935
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    102
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: "Quickly taken lineout" TOS

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    - black player has the ball in touch, and is shaping for a QTI

    - you decide there are 2 players from each team at the line of touch so you let the teams know the QTI is no longer an option.

    - Right after you call this the black player throws the ball in straight along the line of touch to the front receiver at 5.5m.

    - Red was sauntering back assuming a more relaxed set up to the line out. They start crying that you had called off the QTI.

    Q: would you play on, calling this a lineout, or would you re-set?
    red is the mistake

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,672
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1609

    Default Re: "Quickly taken lineout" TOS

    Quote Originally Posted by Not Kurt Weaver View Post
    red is the mistake
    Why would that be a mistake ? It's very commonly done ..

  5. #5

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,395
    Thanks (Received)
    106
    Likes (Received)
    1478

    Post Re: "Quickly taken lineout" TOS

    Quote Originally Posted by Not Kurt Weaver View Post
    you decide there are 2 players from each team at the line of touch so you let the teams know the QTI is no longer an option.
    red is the mistake
    18.5 A quick throw is disallowed and a lineout is awarded to the same team if:
    A lineout had already been formed;

    18.9 A lineout is formed on the mark of touch.

    18.10 Each team forms a single line parallel to and half a metre from the mark of touch on their side of the lineout between the five-metre and 15-metre lines. The gap between the lines must be maintained until the ball is thrown in. Sanction: Free-kick.

    18.11 A minimum of two players from each team are required to form a lineout.



    It has always been my understanding that this is the minimum requirement for a lineout to have been formed as far as a QTI is concerned. In practice it rarely happens. If a team wants to take a QTI they do so asap. If not, then the opposition are usually first to the line of touch and the throwing team take their time.

    We are having this legalistic argument precisely because the laws are not clear on the exact criteria that constitute forming a lineout.

    Personally I am not seeing any problems in this area.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  6. #6

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    1,935
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    102
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: "Quickly taken lineout" TOS

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Why would that be a mistake ? It's very commonly done ..
    Common use is not always correct and creates myths.

    "no quick throw in" is not interpreted by everyone on the field similarly. In OP, the red team does not interpret it correctly and the ref is the source of this interpretation by using potentially ambiguous terms.

    By definition a quick throw in cannot occur on the line of touch, but the red team cannot be expected to know the precise meaning. And in this case the red team is negatively influenced by over management.

    I would suggest phrases that led to no quick throw in, such as "spectator touched ball", "replacement ball", "lineout formed"

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,672
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1609

    Default Re: "Quickly taken lineout" TOS

    A QTI can take place on line of touch

    - - - Updated - - -

    A QTI can take place on line of touch

  8. #8

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    1,935
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    102
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: "Quickly taken lineout" TOS

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    A QTI can take place on line of touch

    - - - Updated - - -

    A QTI can take place on line of touch
    Not according to law

    At a quick throw, the ball is thrown in:

    Between the mark of touch and the thrower’s own goal line

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,184
    Thanks (Received)
    50
    Likes (Received)
    443

    Default Re: "Quickly taken lineout" TOS

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    - black player has the ball in touch, and is shaping for a QTI

    - you decide there are 2 players from each team at the line of touch so you let the teams know the QTI is no longer an option.

    - Right after you call this the black player throws the ball in straight along the line of touch to the front receiver at 5.5m.

    - Red was sauntering back assuming a more relaxed set up to the line out. They start crying that you had called off the QTI.

    Q: would you play on, calling this a lineout, or would you re-set?
    As OB said, it is usually the non throwing team that is first to the LoT. If they are not the first there and the throwing team have two at the LoT, they make sure to get their 2nd man there to negate the QTI. Now they can’t have it both ways. They can’t ensure a 2 & 2 situation and then cry foul if the throwing team then go for a quickly taken lineout. If the rest of the red team are “sauntering back assuming a more relaxed set up to the lineout”, then that is their problem. I also agree with NKW regarding calling “QTI no longer an option”. The referee should always use law book terms.
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  10. #10

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,672
    Thanks (Received)
    127
    Likes (Received)
    1609

    Default Re: "Quickly taken lineout" TOS

    I usually peep my whistle .. which seems to be a fairly standard way of indicating no QTI

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •