Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Offside or not

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,383
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1679

    Default Offside or not

    Another one from my eventful game on Saturday

    Ball is on the ground

    Red fly hack it, hard

    Ball cannons off Green 10 (who is instinctively flinching, the ball probably hits shoulder / forearm/back, hard to tell), and bounces back the way it came , ie forward off Green10

    Green 7, who is in front of green 10, gathers the ball .


    Q : is Green 7 offside ?

  2. #2
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    760
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    145

    Default Re: Offside or not

    If Green 10 touched the ball then Green 7 is OS.
    Is ball touching a player the same as a player touching the ball??

  3. #3
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    760
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    145

    Default Re: Offside or not

    My feeling is that it should be treated as an OS.
    Decision then is in relation to circumstances of 7 gathering ie Penalty or Scrum.

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,383
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1679

    Default Re: Offside or not

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    If Green 10 touched the ball then Green 7 is OS.
    Is ball touching a player the same as a player touching the ball??
    .A player is offside in open play if that player is in front of a team-mate who is carrying the ball or who last played it. An offside player must not interfere with play. This includes:

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,341
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    153

    Default Re: Offside or not

    Did you judge that the Green player attempted a Charge Down? If you did then his teammate is on-side.

    If not then the ball has gone forward (knock-on) and you could sell that his teammate is "accidentally off-side" and so award a scrum as a result.
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  6. #6

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,383
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1679

    Default Re: Offside or not

    Quote Originally Posted by beckett50 View Post
    Did you judge that the Green player attempted a Charge Down? If you did then his teammate is on-side.

    If not then the ball has gone forward (knock-on) and you could sell that his teammate is "accidentally off-side" and so award a scrum as a result.
    No attempt to charge down - the ball was hacked right at him, hard, and he flinched away from it instinctively and it struck him.

    Played: The ball is played when it is intentionally touched by a player



    Seems to me now that G10 did not play the ball - he was trying to dodge it, or at the very least shield himself from it - so the last player to play the ball was Red, and therefore G7 was onside...

  7. #7

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,910
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    334

    Default Re: Offside or not

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    ... Ball is on the ground. Red fly hack it, hard ... Ball cannons off Green 10 (who is instinctively flinching, the ball probably hits shoulder / forearm/back, hard to tell), and bounces ... forward off Green 10. Green 7, who is in front of green 10, gathers the ball. Q: is Green 7 offside ?
    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    .A player is offside in open play if that player is in front of a team-mate who is carrying the ball or who last played it. An offside player must not interfere with play. This includes:
    The problem here is that "Played" is defined in the lawbook.

    Played: The ball is played when it is intentionally touched by a player.


    The word "intentionally" has obviously been put in for a reason. To me Green 10 did not "intentionally" play the ball, so going by the definition then Green 7 can't be offside. Having said that, I think it looks all wrong and everyone (probably including Green 7) is expecting some sanction.

    Difficult one. My head tells me one thing, but at the same time the practical side of me says "Give them what they all expect".
    Last edited by Taff; 4 Weeks Ago at 16:09.

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    804
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    183

    Default Re: Offside or not

    Have to see it, but I’m thinking play on

  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,383
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1679

    Default Re: Offside or not

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post

    Difficult one. My head tells me one thing, but at the same time the practical side of me says "Give them what they all expect".

    I sanctioned him for being offside (PK, as he had plenty of time to decide whether to play it or leave it, and he played it)

    Green captain said (later, when we had some down time) but it wasn't a knock on (from G10) - the ball hit him on the shoulder.

    I said "it doesn't make any difference whether it was a knock on or not - either way he was the last person to play the ball, his team mate was in front, so he was offside"

    And one of the other green players said "yes and his name wasn't Ken Owens"

    But even as I said it, I was thinking to myself 'hmm.. but but he didn't really play it , did he, crossref?

    It was a tricky one.

  10. #10

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,910
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    334

    Default Re: Offside or not

    I'm torn on this one.

    If I was minded to say he was offside (see above) personally I think I would have given a scrum for accidental offside rather than a PK. Why? Because that seems the fairest thing to do.

    A PK seems too harsh - especially if you could make a decent fist of arguing that it should be Play On.
    Last edited by Taff; 4 Weeks Ago at 17:09.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •