Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 44

Thread: Lineout quiz

      
  1. #11

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,202
    Thanks (Received)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    444

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Receivers, thrower and thrower’s opposite have always been “participating players” whilst those in the two lines are “lineout players”. Nothing has changed since 2017.
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  2. #12

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,425
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1686

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat View Post
    This scenario has nothing to do with a QTLO
    In the QTLO thread there was a large (and fierce!) body of opinion that all that is really needed is 2 players from each team and providing you have that then a lineout can take place.
    If you argued that position , then your answer to this question must be that we have 2x2 and nothing else matters so Try

    Conversely, if you think the precise position and timing of B8 is important you can't be allowing QTLO in a general melee where V8 would be impossible to observe
    Last edited by crossref; 10-06-19 at 06:06.

  3. #13

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,202
    Thanks (Received)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    444

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    In the QTLO thread there was a large (and fierce!) body of opinion that all that is really needed is 2 players from each team and providing you have that then a lineout can take place.
    If you argued that position , then your answer to this question must be that we have 2x2 and nothing else matters so Try

    Conversely, if you think the precise position and timing of B8 is important you can't be allowing QTLO in a general melee where V8 would be impossible to observe
    Nope.
    In the Advantage Referee scenario, B8 becomes an extra lineout player plain and simple. The two scenarios, this one and a QTLO are completely different.
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  4. #14
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    Coach Colts/ELRA 1&2
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    335
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    29

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat View Post
    Receivers, thrower and thrower’s opposite have always been “participating players” whilst those in the two lines are “lineout players”. Nothing has changed since 2017.
    From 2017:
    Once the lineout has commenced , the receiver may move into the lineout and may perform
    all actions available to players in the lineout and is liable to related sanctions.

  5. #15

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,425
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1686

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Here is Advantage answer (FK)

    .This is a tough one for many reasons.
    Originally the Law stated that the receiver needs to be at least 2m from the lineout and may not move into the lineout until the lineout has commenced. New Law book states, "If a team elects to have a receiver, the receiver stands between the five-metre and the 15-metre lines, two metres away from their team-mates in the lineout. Each team may have only one receiver. Sanction: Free-kick.
    In this example it would appear that the player gained a clear advantage from not being in the correct position, however, we have seen tries allowed recently where players are 2.5m or 3m out and start moving a step before the throw. I would recommend that if the player is in the region of 2m and clearly takes up the position of the receiver, i.e. stops for a moment, and is not within 2m when the ball leaves the hands of the thrower, play on. In this example it would have to be a FK.
    https://www.facebook.com/18318061590...7202156833864/

  6. #16

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,425
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1686

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat View Post
    FK to team A

    This scenario has nothing to do with a QTLO
    This scenario is about whether the lineout is set properly .. who is in the lineout , who is not in it, what are their roles ? and are they standing in the right places when the lineout commences.

  7. #17

    Referees in Wales
    tewdric's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Gwent
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    18 Sep 18
    Posts
    160
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    31

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Actually, having thought about the comemnts here I believe there are two reasons why the try should not be awarded:

    If we regard 8 as a receiver he/she is initially standing in the wrong place - free kick. (If they are not a receiver plain offside - penalty.)

    Either way 8 is not a lineout player (defined as one of the players forming the lines) and thus cannot compete for the ball in the lineout.

  8. #18
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    405
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    38

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Hmmm I had thought that it did say that the receiver could enter the line. But it doesn't specifically say. However as has been said, it said in 2017 that he/she could. We've been further advised on many other threads that there have been no law changes since then. So I'd suggest there's no issue with B8 on this occasion entering the line to compete. Provided he was in the right place to start with.

    It sounds like he may not have been, so on that basis FK. Although in real time in my level, I'd never be able to see that, so I'd prob award the try.

  9. #19

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,425
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1686

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    What's your answer based on the current laws ?

  10. #20

    Referees in Wales
    tewdric's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Gwent
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    18 Sep 18
    Posts
    160
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    31

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    I think I might raise the receiver joining the line point at the next society meeting - the implication of the 2019 law, by stating that line out players can compete for the ball, is that non-line out players can't - but it doesn't explicitly say so. As Arabchielf has said we were told no new laws when the "simplifications" were made.

    Doesn't change my answer to the question though!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •