Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 44

Thread: Lineout quiz

      
  1. #31
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    Coach Colts/ELRA 1&2
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    322
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    28

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Crossref, in the this case the Definitions in the lawbook are clear (separate for Lineout players and Participating players), I think, and does make the distinction. Usage is consistent with 18.29.

  2. #32

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,920
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1623

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Oops. I was looking in wrong place!

  3. #33

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    948
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Received)
    175

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Personally because of the ambiguity in the scenario I would be happy for a referee to reset the lineout without penalising.
    Or the referee would have managed it pre-emptively: I have required a team to clarify if and who is the Receiver when not obvious. Someone like B8 running in would have led me to halt the line-out, well before he had caught the ball.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  4. #34

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,920
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1623

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    Or the referee would have managed it pre-emptively: I have required a team to clarify if and who is the Receiver when not obvious. Someone like B8 running in would have led me to halt the line-out, well before he had caught the ball.
    What if they take it quickly ?

  5. #35

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    91
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    26

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    This has been a really interesting thread because it highlights an issue which is not in any way subjective. The 2017 law book outlined a scenario that was permissible (ie the receiver being permitted to move into the lineout once the lineout had commenced). Without this explicit permission no one would ever have devised the tactic whilst expecting it to be allowed. In the re-write of the laws, the removal of this option, whether intentional or not, means that there is now no basis in the laws of the game for the continued use of the tactic. Furthermore the lawbook says that any receiver must STAND 2m from the lineout which also implies he cannot move (either along, towards or back from the line out).

    As someone who coached this move and would have previously allowed it as a referee, on reflection I won’t allow it in future.

    As a final point, I know this sounds really pedantic in parts, which I genuinely hate but wtf are we supposed to do when presented with this nonsense?

  6. #36

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,472
    Thanks (Received)
    107
    Likes (Received)
    1514

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Scotland v South Africa 2018 rugbyonslaught.com/footage-scotland-pull-off-perfect-lineout-trick-used-by-all-blacks-in-2011/ (3:48 in the Highlights video).
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  7. #37

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,920
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1623

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    Great example

    1 he starts from more than 2m back
    2 he starts his run before the ball is thrown

  8. #38

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    948
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Received)
    175

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Great example

    1 he starts from more than 2m back
    2 he starts his run before the ball is thrown
    A very good example of how to do it as correctly as possible. Very different to the picture painted for me by the OP.

    1. He was clearly standing in a Receiver's position that was acceptable to the referee and obvious to the opposition.
    2. He ran sideways so that he was still 2m from the line-out when the ball was thrown.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    What if they take it quickly ?
    Manage it, obviously.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  9. #39

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,920
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1623

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Slow them down and set / reset the lineout properly ?
    If so, I agree

  10. #40
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    330
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    32

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by tewdric View Post
    Except that the receiver does not appear to be regarded as "in the lineout" in the 2019 rulebook - look at 18.27.a and 18.27.d and there is a distinction made.

    Also, the definition of a receiver is: "The player in a position to receive the ball if it is knocked or passed back from a lineout" which again implies the receiver isn't "in" the lineout.


    There is nothing in the 2019 rules that says the receiver can join the lineout.

    So the answer to the question: "Can the receiver come into the line and catch the ball?" Is probably no, although it's the joining issue that I think needs clarification hence my comment upthread about raising it at a society meeting.
    #


    I think the main issue for this one is the movement of the receiver. 18.27 covers the involvement of the thrower, not the receiver
    Once the lineout has commenced, the thrower and the thrower’s immediate opponent may......
    18.27 doesn't apply to the receiver. I've no issue with the receiver entering the line to get the ball provided he starts from 2m away. The Law also doesn't state he needs to be still, so unless he's closing his 2m gap I'm allowing him to move along the line of the line out (sidestepping). Once the ball is thrown, he can then come in.

    So in the scenario from the OP, technically FK as B8 wasn't in the correct position, but in reality I'd prob not see that - so I give the try. Can't call what I don't see. With ARs and TMOs then it would be different. But I don't have any of that. I'm focusing on offsides and straight throws lol

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •