Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 44 of 44

Thread: Lineout quiz

      
  1. #41

    Referees in Wales
    tewdric's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Gwent
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    18 Sep 18
    Posts
    108
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    18

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Sure - I referenced 18.27 as it demonstrates the 2019 laws differentiating the roles of player in the lineout and receiver.

  2. #42

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    665
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    162

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    I think it is one of those situations where it is legal on TV rugby but doubtful at community level where the laws are applied with a bit more rigour. Assuming that the referee actually knows the laws. Some of our colleagues at L14 can be excused.

  3. #43
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    255
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    21

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by tewdric View Post
    Sure - I referenced 18.27 as it demonstrates the 2019 laws differentiating the roles of player in the lineout and receiver.

    But the definitions still refer to participating players as being the thrower, his immediate opponent, and 1 receiver each team and the other players in the lines. In the definitions there doesn't seem to be any difference, from what I read.

  4. #44

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,184
    Thanks (Received)
    50
    Likes (Received)
    443

    Default Re: Lineout quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    But the definitions still refer to participating players as being the thrower, his immediate opponent, and 1 receiver each team and the other players in the lines. In the definitions there doesn't seem to be any difference, from what I read.
    The difference is that the current law states they lineout players may compete for the ball once the lineout commences i.e. those players standing in the two lines. It doesn’t say that other participating players, i.e. receivers, may do the same.
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •