Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: Another Line Out Question..

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Wales
    tewdric's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Gwent
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    18 Sep 18
    Posts
    172
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Another Line Out Question..

    Lineout to blue. 6 blue players form their line and are matched by 6 red forwards. The defending hooker is standing correctly in the tramlines and the blue hooker is holding the ball ready to throw in. Neither team have a player in the receiver position. Just before the ball is thrown the red scrum half darts forward from the backline and stands 2m from the lineout and, seconds later, the ball is thrown in. Blue catch the ball and form a maul which all red partcipating players, including the receiver, bind on to to oppose. The line of touch bisects the maul so there are bound players either side of it.

    Decision:

    Free kick to blue for numbers?
    Penalty to blue for red 9 joining the lineout?
    Play on?
    Something else?

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,375
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    171

    Default Re: Another Line Out Question..

    play on for me
    Ciaran Trainor

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,384
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    221

    Default Re: Another Line Out Question..

    I would play on - it is not totally clear - the law drafter had obvously been on the gin.

    18.14 ... the non-throwing team may not have more players (but may have fewer players) in the lineout than the throwing team.
    18.16 If a team elects to have a receiver, .... Each team may have only one receiver.

    So I think they matched numbers, blue elected not to have a receiver - but I am not sure that binds red.
    I am sure you can read it both ways.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    887
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    207

    Default Re: Another Line Out Question..

    Play on, probably. Blue have chosen not to have a receiver, their choice, for whatever reason. As long as the red receiver was clearly in place before the ball was thrown then I would play on

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,895
    Thanks (Received)
    160
    Likes (Received)
    1298
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Another Line Out Question..

    Manage it.

    Peep, guys are you having a receiver or not? Make your mind up and set early.

    Right lets go again.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  6. #6

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,765
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1759

    Default Re: Another Line Out Question..

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Manage it.

    Peep, guys are you having a receiver or not? Make your mind up and set early.

    Right lets go again.
    I like this answer

    I gave a similar answer on the QTLO thread ... Lineouts have to be set properly , else peep, re set . I got roundly told off.
    http://www.rugbyrefs.com/showthread....uick-throw-in)
    Last edited by crossref; 18-06-19 at 16:06.

  7. #7
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,227
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    320

    Default Re: Another Line Out Question..

    Play on. 'Matching numbers' only applies to the players in the lineout, not 'participating players'.

    What 'unfair advantage' have Red concocted by the receiver joining just before the ball is thrown in? None. Move along folks, nothing to see here.

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,895
    Thanks (Received)
    160
    Likes (Received)
    1298
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Another Line Out Question..

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    Play on. 'Matching numbers' only applies to the players in the lineout, not 'participating players'.

    What 'unfair advantage' have Red concocted by the receiver joining just before the ball is thrown in? None. Move along folks, nothing to see here.
    Just nip it in the bud.
    Otherwise the other team will try the same thing, then you will have players darting in and out of the lineout.
    Just stop it early doors and then give yourself some peace for the rest of the game.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,199
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    321

    Default Re: Another Line Out Question..

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    What 'unfair advantage' have Red concocted by the receiver joining just before the ball is thrown in? None. Move along folks, nothing to see here.
    An extra player in the maul, for one.

  10. #10

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    156

    Default Re: Another Line Out Question..

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Manage it.

    Peep, guys are you having a receiver or not? Make your mind up and set early.

    Right lets go again.
    But Phil, you have just peeped when you didn't need to! Play on for me - there is nothing to limit numbers in a maul. But they might be in a bit of difficulty if the maul does not get moved off the line of touch and the ref says "use it"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •