Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

      
  1. #1
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    413
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    48

    Default After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    I had a situation in an end-of-season game. Maul collapsed. Opposition player then ( off-feet) changed his bind and moved his hands onto the ball ( which was otherwise available ). He was clearly expecting that I would award him the turnover but I adjudged that his act was tantamount to playing the ball when off-feet so I penalised him and explained that he cannot go for the ball once he was part of the collapsed maul . Different if he had wrapped it up BEFORE going to ground.

    Do we think Toby Falatau here has acted legally ?
    What would you have given ?

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=18C...KR5kkWD3EUPFHD

  2. #2

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,787
    Thanks (Received)
    68
    Likes (Received)
    958

    Default Re: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    well. it certainly LOOKS "wrong"



    didds

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    932
    Thanks (Received)
    20
    Likes (Received)
    227

    Default Re: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    Nah, I wouldn’t allow that, if he was fully on the ball when it went to ground he can stay on it, or get up with it, but for me that’s playing the ball on the ground. I’d like to think I would have blown for turnover scrum before he had a chance to infringe mind.

  4. #4

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,527
    Thanks (Received)
    115
    Likes (Received)
    1380

    Default Re: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    IMO ref got call right. Ball wasn't immediately available.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #5

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,315
    Thanks (Received)
    112
    Likes (Received)
    1505

    Default Re: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    If you are on the ground, you are out of the game.
    "You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  6. #6

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,988
    Thanks (Received)
    147
    Likes (Received)
    1819

    Default Re: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    He should have blown earlier, I think, he was kind of waiting to see if the ball would become immediately available

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,527
    Thanks (Received)
    115
    Likes (Received)
    1380

    Default Re: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    He should have blown earlier, I think, he was kind of waiting to see if the ball would become immediately available
    having not blown earlier, do you agree that he made the correct decision?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #8

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,988
    Thanks (Received)
    147
    Likes (Received)
    1819

    Default Re: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    having not blown earlier, do you agree that he made the correct decision?
    i think yes, having made a mistake it would have been unfair to PK folatau

  9. #9

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    136
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    43

    Default Re: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    Nah, playing the ball off his feet, not having it. Ref could have blown up slightly earlier but given that he didn't (and we're only talking a second or so) Falatau has no right to continue to play whilst on the ground.

  10. #10
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    413
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    48

    Default Re: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    Admittedly I had to watch it a few times but ,for me, I see the mai
    ul collapse, the ball is on the ground and the Gloucester player is on his feet trying to play it . It looks available . Then Toby F interferes with the 'half' trying to play the ball. Hence I would penalise Toby F. The confusion often comes with players knowing that a maul is different from a ruck in that they don't have to roll away.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •