Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Kick-off not reaching 10m Line.

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    observer
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    09 Nov 12
    Posts
    126
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    5

    Default Kick-off not reaching 10m Line.

    I have a question on Kick-off, Team A kick-off , ball does not travel 10m but is blown back into team A's side of the field ball bounces in field and then goes into touch on the kickers 22m . I can find the law regarding not going 10m and blown into in goal and the 5m scrum will be the sanction. The other law only talks about- directly in to touch.

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    724
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    153

    Default Re: Kick-off not reaching 10m Line.

    From memory this is one of those odd ones where the wind blowing it is very specifically mentioned in one scenario, but other similar scenarios it's not mentioned. For me it's not 10, so options - keep it simple, sell the expected decision with confidence and no one will question it.

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,297
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: Kick-off not reaching 10m Line.

    didn't go directly into touch so scrum or rekick option.

    Law 12.6
    The ball must reach the 10-metre line. Sanction: The non-kicking team has the option of the kick being retaken or a scrum.
    Last edited by Dickie E; 24-07-19 at 10:07.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    observer
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    09 Nov 12
    Posts
    126
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    5

    Default Re: Kick-off not reaching 10m Line.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    didn't go directly into touch so scrum or rekick option.

    Law 12.6
    The ball must reach the 10-metre line. Sanction: The non-kicking team has the option of the kick being retaken or a scrum.

    We have this, but the problem is why do we allow a 5m scrum if it blows in to kickers in-goal or over the deadball line. I would like to think advantage to non-kicking team would be a quick-line out or line out from where the ball went into touch.

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,077
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1644

    Default Re: Kick-off not reaching 10m Line.

    Don't forget the opposition can accept a kick that doesn't go 10m .. by playing the ball, so in this scenario the oppo might try and chase the ball and play the ball before it goes into touch

  6. #6

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,547
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    894

    Default Re: Kick-off not reaching 10m Line.

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    From memory this is one of those odd ones where the wind blowing it is very specifically mentioned in one scenario, but other similar scenarios it's not mentioned. For me it's not 10, so options - keep it simple, sell the expected decision with confidence and no one will question it.
    what when the receiving captain says "actually ref Id like to take the lineout on the 22 thanks" ?

    (I've my answer...)

    didds

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,077
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1644

    Default Re: Kick-off not reaching 10m Line.

    What about, more realistic, a restart kick that goes into touch at 9m
    Either directly
    Or indirectly

    Is the oppo allowed to accept the kick and have a lineout or QTI ?

    I would say yes, in both cases (for direct it's clearly yes, for indirect the law isn't quite clear)

    So it must be the same for a ball going -9m ..

  8. #8

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    706
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    103

    Default Re: Kick-off not reaching 10m Line.

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Don't forget the opposition can accept a kick that doesn't go 10m .. by playing the ball, so in this scenario the oppo might try and chase the ball and play the ball before it goes into touch
    I would have agreed, until I looked it up and read the law, no mention of accepting the kick, and it says the ball MUST reach the 10 meter line.

    13.6 (2017) Used to allow for the play on, but it is no longer part of the law.

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    724
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    153

    Default Re: Kick-off not reaching 10m Line.

    12.7 does


    • If the ball reaches the 10-metre line but is then blown back or if an opponent plays the ball before it reaches the 10-metre line, play continues.


  10. #10

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,547
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    894

    Default Re: Kick-off not reaching 10m Line.

    but in the OP the opposiion didn't play the ball. it just got blown back into touch on the kickers 22... having not reached the 10m line...

    ?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •