Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Thread: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

      
  1. #1
    Newbie Referee, youth rugby coach

    Soc/Assoc
    NERRS
    Grade
    Bottom of the totem pole
    Join Date
    11 Jun 18
    Posts
    23
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    7

    Default Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    I just caught the end of the Fiji-Japan Pacific Nations Cup match and noticed the lineouts were thrown in with player throwing in the ball standing on the line so at least part of their boots were in the field of play.

    I grabbed a screenshots of 4 lineouts just as the ball was thrown (attached) and I've enlarged/highlighted the throwers feet. This was 4 separate lineouts - 2 by each team - in full view of the ref and the ARs so I have to conclude it was a deliberate decision.

    18.22 is still pretty clear that the feet should be outside the field:
    18.22 The player throwing in the ball stands on the mark of touch with both feet outside the field of play. The thrower must not step into the field of play until the ball has been thrown. Sanction: Option of lineout or scrum.


    Is there some new variation of the throw-in being trialed? And what's the consensus here - immaterial so let it play on, or the law is the law and penalize if any part of the boot moves beyond the whitewash and into the field of play?

    FIV v JPN 1.jpgFIV v JPN 2.jpgFIV v JPN 3.jpgFIV v JPN 4.jpg

  2. #2

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,517
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1535

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    If a player has a foot on the touchline, then that foot is "out of play".

    This seems to be acceptance of the usual practice, which was technically wrong because the previous law said the thrower should not have "any part of either foot in the field of play". That was never enforced.

    Stepping into the field of play is different - the foot has completely crossed the touchline.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  3. #3

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,408
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1682

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    Really the ref should manage this .. but it's not really material is it

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Swiss Rugby Union
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    14 Dec 16
    Posts
    44
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    6

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    The materiality of gaining those 15 cm is minimal. I think we have much more pressing issues to deal with (crooked scrum feeds anyone?).

  5. #5

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,517
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1535

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    2017
    6 d. When to lower the flag. When the ball is thrown in, the touch judge or assistant referee must lower the flag with the following exceptions:
    Exception 1: When the player throwing in puts any part of either foot in the field of play, the touch judge or assistant referee keeps the flag up.


    2018 as quoted in the OP
    18.22 The player throwing in the ball stands on the mark of touch with both feet outside the field of play. The thrower must not step into the field of play until the ball has been thrown.


    If you tread on the touch line during play, you are in touch ie outside the field of play.

    I think the change of wording legitimises what had become common practice.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,357
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    212

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    Lines are always material.
    A stud on the line is in touch and we do not ignore that.
    We will go to five TV replays to prove a ball has touched the goal line.

    The assistant ref is there and has a specific task to check this.

  7. #7

    Referees in America
    Rank Bajin!
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Virginia (USA)
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,369
    Thanks (Received)
    53
    Likes (Received)
    734

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    I agree with OB. As long as some part of the foot is on the touchline, the player is complying with the law.

    From the pictures, it looks like this is what's happening, so there are no issues.
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

  8. #8

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,408
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1682

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    2017
    6 d. When to lower the flag. When the ball is thrown in, the touch judge or assistant referee must lower the flag with the following exceptions:
    Exception 1: When the player throwing in puts any part of either foot in the field of play, the touch judge or assistant referee keeps the flag up.


    2018 as quoted in the OP
    18.22 The player throwing in the ball stands on the mark of touch with both feet outside the field of play. The thrower must not step into the field of play until the ball has been thrown.


    If you tread on the touch line during play, you are in touch ie outside the field of play.

    I think the change of wording legitimises what had become common practice.
    So his feet can be on the line, but not inside it

  9. #9
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    760
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    Lines are always material.
    A stud on the line is in touch and we do not ignore that.
    We will go to five TV replays to prove a ball has touched the goal line.

    The assistant ref is there and has a specific task to check this.
    Two completely different scenarios to what is being referred to here.

  10. #10

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,517
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1535

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    So his feet can be on the line, but not inside it
    Yes. However it has to be BOTH feet, so it is not quite the same as simply being in touch.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •