Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 40

Thread: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

      
  1. #21

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    707
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    103

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    First you let them get away with a few extra cm at the LO, next they will be taking an extra 2 or 3 meters at a PK shot at goal. International players would never do that though, right?

    https://rugbydump.com/news/beauden-b...ck-in-the-book

  2. #22

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,499
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1524

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    First you let them get away with a few extra cm at the LO, next they will be taking an extra 2 or 3 meters at a PK shot at goal.
    Chalk and cheese. At a lineout there is a clear white line where the thrower must stand. At a PK the only mark is usually a vague one made by the referee.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  3. #23

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,103
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1651

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    for me, the law is pretty clear:

    When the ball is thrown in, the assistant referee or touch judge lowers the flag, with the following exceptions:
    When the player throwing in puts any part of either foot in the field of play.


    he player throwing in the ball stands on the mark of touch with both feet outside the field of play. T


    Field of play: The area between the goal lines and the touch lines. Those lines are not part of the field of play.


    so if any part of the feet is inside the line, it's an illegal throw


    I am happy that it may not be material - and if not, play on - but that's a different argument
    Last edited by crossref; 29-07-19 at 18:07.

  4. #24

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    707
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    103

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    Chalk and cheese. At a lineout there is a clear white line where the thrower must stand. At a PK the only mark is usually a vague one made by the referee.
    You watched the linked video and thought that there was vagueness about where the mark and shot at goal should be? For me BB was about to set the ball on the mark (the referee was standing on it), then noticed the referee turned his back to address something else, then BB nudges the ball a couple meters forward.

  5. #25

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,499
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1524

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    for me, the law is pretty clear:

    When the ball is thrown in, the assistant referee or touch judge lowers the flag, with the following exceptions:
    When the player throwing in puts any part of either foot in the field of play.


    he player throwing in the ball stands on the mark of touch with both feet outside the field of play. T


    Field of play: The area between the goal lines and the touch lines. Those lines are not part of the field of play.


    so if any part of the feet is inside the line, it's an illegal throw


    I am happy that it may not be material - and if not, play on - but that's a different argument
    I think the whole idea is unhelpful pedantry that nobody will enforce.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  6. #26

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,018
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    109
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    You watched the linked video and thought that there was vagueness about where the mark and shot at goal should be? For me BB was about to set the ball on the mark (the referee was standing on it), then noticed the referee turned his back to address something else, then BB nudges the ball a couple meters forward.
    Nudges? he kicks it fwd, play on at that point.

  7. #27

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,018
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    109
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    for me, the law is pretty clear:

    When the ball is thrown in, the assistant referee or touch judge lowers the flag, with the following exceptions:
    When the player throwing in puts any part of either foot in the field of play.


    he player throwing in the ball stands on the mark of touch with both feet outside the field of play. T


    Field of play: The area between the goal lines and the touch lines. Those lines are not part of the field of play.


    so if any part of the feet is inside the line, it's an illegal throw


    I am happy that it may not be material - and if not, play on - but that's a different argument
    It will come material when we least expect it and at an important moment in a crucial game. But that is the glory of materiality.

  8. #28

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,103
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1651

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    Wherever you draw the line, a player might then be 2cm in front of it , and you haveto make a materiality decision..
    Last edited by crossref; 29-07-19 at 21:07.

  9. #29

    Referees in Holland


    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 2
    Join Date
    15 Oct 11
    Posts
    932
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    49

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    If the AR and ref miss the position of the hooker's feet, then that's that. If it is seen, a quick warning should put that one to bed.

    I make a point of scanning whoever takes PKs directly from their hands early in the game. If I feel they're taking the mickey by, for example, using your mark as the begining point of their run up to kick, thus gaining a sly couple of metres, I walk with them to the lineout and have a word (in my friendly voice) about the next kick they take ...

    This one of Barrett's: I'm torn between admiring the audacity, fuming at the obvious cheating and wondering why the ref turned his back and lost the mark. To my mind he should have either taken Read's question where he was or made a mental scan of the mark - the proximity to the pitch line should have helped him.
    Last edited by irishref; 29-07-19 at 22:07. Reason: Grammar

  10. #30
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Swiss Rugby Union
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    14 Dec 16
    Posts
    44
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    6

    Default Re: Fiji-Japan linouts inside the field of play

    I reckon the ARs were already moving towards the posts and had their backs partially turned as well, although at least the one you can see in the footage seems like he is looking exactly in the right direction to spot it. At any rate, note to self: when you signal a kick at goal remember that your assistants might not be looking at the field of play for the next couple of seconds.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •