Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 60

Thread: Samoa v USA

      
  1. #31
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    811
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    183

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    It reminded me of this by Maro Itoje https://rugbydump.com/news/more-maro...with-his-foot/ technically here ruled not illegal I think (although he did clip the player with his trailing leg), but, if you're going to fly in with your feet then the risk of a negative outcome (and / or the ref seeing it as illegal is increased) - you takes your chances.

    In this case we have a fairly clear law with regards kicking out of the hands and I can't begin to guess what the intention was, they had an opportunity to rewrite and correct it and didn't, so I'll assume it's meant as written.

  2. #32
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    404
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    38

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    For me the BC can still be tackled as the ball hasn't left his foot. To me he's still the ball carrier and as such can be tackled. I'd be inclined to see this one as an illegal tackle and PK it accordingly. A fraction of a second later I'd be ok with it as it will be a charge down as the ball will have left the BC foot and in open play.

    If on the follow through I felt it was dangerous I'd PK it and then I'd be inclined to RC it. Played in a match a couple for years ago. My team's Full Back slid from behind and tackled the BC stopping a try. The ref just awarded a PK and YC. I'd have PT and RC the player. But the ref was lenient with us. The player in question was subbed off after his 10 mins so didn't play in that match again.

  3. #33
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,146
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    306

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by L'irlandais View Post
    Any ever seen anything remotely like this incident in a grassroots game? Or on TV?
    I don’t believe for one minute the law makers had this in mind when writing 9.23.

    At the risk of repeating myself, they more than likely were thinking of a Law 21.11 type situation.

    If a tackled player is in the act of reaching out to ground the ball for a try or touch down, players may pull the ball from the player’s possession but must not kick or attempt to kick the ball. Sanction: Penalty.
    Notice the sanction isn’t a card.
    There's already a law 21.11, that's for a different situation. But then - if it's illegal to kick the ball out of the player's hands there, why not elsewhere? Hands are full of delicate bones, boots are indelicate striking instruments. We also penalise kicks, trips and stamps as illegal.

    I've PKed a kick out of an opponent's hands before - players converging on a bouncing ball, red grabbed it, black 9 chipped it out of his hands, over his head and into in-goal. No-one found it surprising at all.

  4. #34

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,420
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1684

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    I think we would all agree that the BC in this instance was in possession throughout ?
    Ie the ball was kicked from his possession?

  5. #35

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,841
    Thanks (Received)
    152
    Likes (Received)
    1248
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I think we would all agree that the BC in this instance was in possession throughout ?
    Ie the ball was kicked from his possession?
    NO.

    Its impossible to see from the video whether the ball carrier has released the ball or not.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  6. #36
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    404
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    38

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    It does seem very close, my gut (very big gut), is telling me that the ball in the OP has just been released. Although yes very very difficult to tell. We talk about C&O, this certainly isn't so what would we do, if we think an infringement has happened but not 100% sure. We at grass roots level play on. At a higher level you might play on an have a TMO review subject to the usual caveats.

  7. #37

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,594
    Thanks (Received)
    60
    Likes (Received)
    904

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    I can't answer for Crossref but I'm not sure the question has any relevance, a player would not be lifting a foot like that 10m away from another to get the ball.
    so - 3m? 2m ? 1m? a metre is a long way from the body still...

    didds

  8. #38

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,594
    Thanks (Received)
    60
    Likes (Received)
    904

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    Because nobody thinks of it?
    somebody has to try new tactics for the very first time after all.

    didds

  9. #39

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,420
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1684

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    NO.

    Its impossible to see from the video whether the ball carrier has released the ball or not.
    Doesn't make any difference. If he is in the motion of kicking and has released the ball he is still in possession (and for instance could be tackled). .. see numerous threads on that

  10. #40

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,594
    Thanks (Received)
    60
    Likes (Received)
    904

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Doesn't make any difference. If he is in the motion of kicking and has released the ball he is still in possession (and for instance could be tackled). .. see numerous threads on that
    so as above what if the foot is 1m away?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •