Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 60

Thread: Samoa v USA

      
  1. #41

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,077
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1644

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Zenos paradox

  2. #42

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,497
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1524

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Doesn't make any difference. If he is in the motion of kicking and has released the ball he is still in possession (and for instance could be tackled). .. see numerous threads on that
    That is for the purposes of deeming a tackle legal. i do not see it is relevant here. If the player has released the ball and the kick does not hit him, I see no offence.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  3. #43

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,497
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1524

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Zenos paradox
    You mean Achilles and the tortoise?
    Surely that was a "proof" that he could never overtake the tortoise? In this case what matters is actual illegal contact.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  4. #44

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,077
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1644

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    That is for the purposes of deeming a tackle legal. i do not see it is relevant here. If the player has released the ball and the kick does not hit him, I see no offence.
    I know

    But all the same we agree that the ball was kicked out of his possession

  5. #45
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,279
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    259

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by L'irlandais View Post
    Notice the sanction isn’t a card.
    Not relevant. A Compulsory card is rarely stated as a sanction. The sanction is a PK. That may be cacked up wit ha "word" a YC or a RC.

  6. #46
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,109
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    296

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Sorites paradox, strictly speaking

    If he hadn't released it, would the foot still have hit the ball? Then to all intents and purposes he attempted to kick the ball out of his hands. I accept that people may differ on the answer to the question.

  7. #47

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,297
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NL View Post
    If he hadn't released it, would the foot still have hit the ball?
    If you're asking about the OP (noting that we are now in confusion territory because there are 2 different videos being debated) then no. If the White ball carrier had dummied (ie not passed the ball) then no contact would have been made and the Blue player would have been left there with his foot stuck in the air and his coach fuming about a missed tackle.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #48

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,497
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1524

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I know

    But all the same we agree that the ball was kicked out of his possession
    No we don't.
    Possession: An individual or team in control of the ball or who are attempting to bring it under control.

    The passer is NOT attempting to bring it under control.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  9. #49

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,077
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1644

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Shrug , in previous threads we have all agreed that someone in the process of kicking a ball is still in possession (and can for instance therefore be tackled)

  10. #50

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,497
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1524

    Default Re: Samoa v USA

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Shrug , in previous threads we have all agreed that someone in the process of kicking a ball is still in possession (and can for instance therefore be tackled)
    The kicker is clearly attempting to control the ball!
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •