Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: Jackaling

      
  1. #21

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,915
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    338

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Quote Originally Posted by nylluma View Post
    Thank you all for your responses. What I am confused about is “as soon as the opposition player arrives, no hands can be used” bit. What constitutes an “arrival?” Is contact required, or being in front of the ruck suffice? How do the refs decide?
    What I think World Rugby meant to say nylluma was

    “as soon as the opposition player arrives, no NEW hands can be used”

    Funnily enough I clarified this very point at our regional workshop yesterday. What I was told was if the Jackler is legal, he stays legal, ie if he's allowed to grab the ball (no ruck formed) and a ruck forms after he has his hands on the ball legally, the Jackler can KEEP his hands on the ball but nobody else can go for it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    So, to clarify, I can run "recklessly" into an opponent who is competing for the ball and bash him off because the ruck isn't formed yet?
    No, because you are still subject to Dangerous Play laws. The lawbook allows you to clear out a Jackler as long as it isn't dangerous.

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    And I quoted another rucking Law. Where do we go from here??
    Where do you go from here? Well, if you make a reckless shoulder charge to an opponents head, then probably an early bath.

    Do they still have baths these days?
    Last edited by Taff; 12-08-19 at 10:08.

  2. #22
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    466
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    45

    Default Re: Jackaling

    No, because you are still subject to Dangerous Play laws. The lawbook allows you to clear out a Jackler as long as it isn't dangerous.


    Where do you go from here? Well, if you make a reckless shoulder charge to an opponents head, then probably an early bath.

    Do they still have baths these days? [/QUOTE]

    @Taff this is the point I was making. The safe way to clear out needs you to bind to your opponent before or as contact is made. The other seemed to me anyway to be saying that this wasn't needed. In fact one said I may even have an appeal case for the subsequent RC. I know that's wrong Charging to clear out before or after a ruck is form, requires a bind. I say again, I've NEVER seen to player just coming together to form a ruck.

  3. #23

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,915
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    338

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    ... Taff this is the point I was making. The safe way to clear out needs you to bind to your opponent before or as contact is made.
    But a player doesn't HAVE to bind on to a Jackler over the ball to create a Ruck. Eg if there's a tackled player, ball on the ground and an opposing Jackler, just grabbing the Jackler would create a Ruck because all the requirements are met. Of course you wouldn't win the ball just by grabbing a Jackler (I assume you would want the ball) but you've created a Ruck whether you meant to or not.

  4. #24
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    466
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    45

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Ok it may not be a legalistic "binding." this refers to binding to players in the same team as you in a ruck or to the opp front rows in a scrum. But it's a common language thing the grabbing a player over a tackled BC is binding onto him.

  5. #25
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 17
    Posts
    15
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    What I think World Rugby meant to say nylluma was

    “as soon as the opposition player arrives, no NEW hands can be used”

    Funnily enough I clarified this very point at our regional workshop yesterday. What I was told was if the Jackler is legal, he stays legal, ie if he's allowed to grab the ball (no ruck formed) and a ruck forms after he has his hands on the ball legally, the Jackler can KEEP his hands on the ball but nobody else can go for it.


    Position in 12:27

    How would you interpret this one? I know the player has "arrived" before he tried to play the ball, but something seems odd. Can you prevent jackling just by touching? And if blue did not touch, would green be allowed to jackle or is blue considered "arrived" already?
    Last edited by nylluma; 14-08-19 at 22:08.

  6. #26

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,719
    Thanks (Received)
    64
    Likes (Received)
    937

    Default Re: Jackaling

    presumably no ruck is formed until contact is made - so if blue and gr5een both can get jhands on without conbtact with each other (stratching stuff here I know) then both can continue. Though frankly if I were one of those a shove on my oppo will clear him out possibly leaving the ball for me!

  7. #27
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,227
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    320

    Default Re: Jackaling

    How it's played and how it's called in 7s (on the tour) is the best example of what I'd like to see. In XVs there are too many excess players with nothing better to do than flop onto a pile for a rest.

  8. #28

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,915
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    338

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Quote Originally Posted by nylluma View Post
    How would you interpret this one? I know the player has "arrived" before he tried to play the ball, but something seems odd. Can you prevent jackling just by touching? And if blue did not touch, would green be allowed to jackle or is blue considered "arrived" already?
    Sorry but that link doesn't work for me nylluma.

    Like Didds says though, my feeling is that if 2 opposing players get their hands on the ball before they come into contact with each other (thereby creating a Ruck) then working on the principle that "If they're legal, then they stay legal" then I reckon both can still fight for the ball ... but only those 2 can touch the ball as the Ruck is now formed and no new hands can be used. It's going to be very fine margins though, but you should be in the best position to decide which side of the line it is.

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    presumably no ruck is formed until contact is made - so if blue and gr5een both can get jhands on without conbtact with each other (stratching stuff here I know) then both can continue.
    That's how I understand it too.
    Last edited by Taff; 15-08-19 at 14:08.

  9. #29
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 17
    Posts
    15
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Oh my bad, it's this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7uY1ScwJqTk&t=747s

    So we're always looking for contact, and if there's none, one can play ball, but just standing there won't suffice?
    #ruckgate2017

  10. #30
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    466
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    45

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Ah that one. I personally thought it was harsh at the time. I think, and i can only guess, the BC's support players made contact with him and formed a ruck. Then they slid forward and beyond the ruck in my opinion. He was entitled to go for the ball. I think the ref felt the ruck was still valid? don't know because the 2 Scottish players were on the ground at the time too. I do remember the was talk of him being off his feet. Yeah maybe for a split second, his hand touched the ground. But again i think this would've been harsh too.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •