Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Jackaling

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 17
    Posts
    15
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Jackaling

    Hey all,
    I play back row in a Turkish team, and was away from rugby for a long time because of a series of injuries. What I am wondering is the refs’ opinions on “jackaling.” Before the rule change it was pretty straightforward, no contact no ruck, so jackaling was allowed. The new ruck rule confused me a bit with one man ruck being allowed. When is the opposing team member considered “arrived” etc. If you can clarify, I’ll be delighted.
    Cheers

  2. #2
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    466
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    45

    Default Re: Jackaling

    @Nylluma - Basically if you get your hands on the ball before the ball carrier's support arrives. You can keep your hands on it until you either win the ball, get pushed back or pulled off your feet. If the support arrives first - no hands.

    Another point if you've got hands on the ball and are trying to draw the pen for not releasing the ball (by holding it against the call carrier's body). You may find the ref can tell and penalise you instead.

  3. #3

    Referees in Wales
    tewdric's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Gwent
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    18 Sep 18
    Posts
    174
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Exactly as Arabchief says - although I'd add a couple of things. I am a newish ref but played lock or 6 for 25+ years so have a good idea of what the law says and also what players generally get away with!

    If the jackaller arrives first I look for hands straight on the ball - not on the ground or another player first - and the jackaller must be supporting their own weight and on their feet - many rest knees on a player on the ground. The law says they should have head above hips, and while there is generally a bit of leeway allowed here I do look for a strong stable splayed posture so I can see they are doing their best. If they achieve this and survive the first clear out attempt and are actively trying to play the ball not merely hold it on, they win the turnover.

    This is a worthwhile (but not definitive!) read:

    https://rugbydump.com/news/brian-odriscoll-masterclass-defensive-play-at-the-breakdown/
    Last edited by tewdric; 08-08-19 at 14:08.

  4. #4

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    753
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    121

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Another thing to consider if you have been away for a while, if you are part of the tackle, including wrapping up the ball, and staying on your feet while the ball carrier goes to ground, you must come from your side of the ball and have a clear release before you can go for the jackal.

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 17
    Posts
    15
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Thank you all for your responses. What I am confused about is “as soon as the opposition player arrives, no hands can be used” bit. What constitutes an “arrival?” Is contact required, or being in front of the ruck suffice? How do the refs decide?

  6. #6
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    466
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    45

    Default Re: Jackaling

    If you've got your hands on the ball already, you can keep competing for the ball.
    The point on which the support player arrives is he needs to bind in order to form the ruck. If you're there and hands on already you can compete and keep your hands in.
    If there's split seconds between though, the ref will prob ping you a it'll be nearly impossible for him to tell who was in first.
    Also if he tells you no hands it's probably because he thinks you're competing illegally in error.

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,897
    Thanks (Received)
    160
    Likes (Received)
    1299
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    If you've got your hands on the ball already, you can keep competing for the ball.
    The point on which the support player arrives is he needs to bind in order to form the ruck. If you're there and hands on already you can compete and keep your hands in.
    If there's split seconds between though, the ref will prob ping you a it'll be nearly impossible for him to tell who was in first.
    Also if he tells you no hands it's probably because he thinks you're competing illegally in error.
    Binding is not required to form a ruck.

    2. A ruck is formed when at least one player from each team are in contact, on their feet
    and over the ball which is on the ground.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  8. #8
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    466
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    45

    Default Re: Jackaling

    So, for me "in contact" means binding Phil E. Otherwise your not in the ruck. As you need to be bound on to be part of a ruck. I've never seen 2 people in a ruck merely touching. Seems a bit of a pansy ruck to me lol. Further to this, you need be bound to your opponent before making contact, otherwise you're just charging into a ruck.

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,897
    Thanks (Received)
    160
    Likes (Received)
    1299
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Jackaling

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    So, for me "in contact" means binding Phil E. Otherwise your not in the ruck. As you need to be bound on to be part of a ruck. I've never seen 2 people in a ruck merely touching. Seems a bit of a pansy ruck to me lol. Further to this, you need be bound to your opponent before making contact, otherwise you're just charging into a ruck.
    Not exactly.

    To clarify, you don't need to bind to FORM a ruck, you just need contact.
    But you do need to bind to JOIN an already formed ruck.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  10. #10
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    466
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    45

    Default Re: Jackaling

    So, to clarify, I can run "recklessly" into an opponent who is competing for the ball and bash him off because the ruck isn't formed yet? Nope not buying. You're not allowed to just bash someone of, you must either before or simultaneously bind before/as you make contact.

    9.20 (a) A player must not charge into a ruck or maul. Charging includes any contact made without binding onto another player in the ruck or maul.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •