Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: latching

      
  1. #21
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,226
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    320

    Default Re: latching

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NL View Post
    I misread... red push blue back, and the ball is dragged back by the blue anchor who is being pulled along the ground. PK. Anchoring in itself is often hard to judge C&O, and I try to manage.
    Law reference?

  2. #22

    Referees in America
    smeagol's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CARFU RS
    Join Date
    20 Apr 12
    Posts
    357
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    16

    Default Re: latching

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    Law reference?
    15.15, BC is playing the ball in the ruck.

  3. #23
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,279
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    259

    Default Re: latching

    Quote Originally Posted by beckett50 View Post
    In short, YES! Under the strict working of the Law the Blue player is not fully supporting his own weight because his hands are gripped onto his team mate.
    Not necessarily.

  4. #24

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,243
    Thanks (Received)
    36
    Likes (Received)
    210

    Default Re: latching

    Quote Originally Posted by smeagol View Post
    15.15, BC is playing the ball in the ruck.
    I agree. Only at that point the Ball Carrier (tackled player) will already have not been penalized for 14.7a not making the ball available immediately. And after a tackle all of the players must be on their feet while they play the ball, so also liable to penalty between the completed tackle and the formation of the ruck. Once the ruck is formed then 15.15 should nail his penalty for the third time of asking.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  5. #25
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,226
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    320

    Default Re: latching

    Real scenario (maybe). Tackle, ball placed well back, keeps hand on ball, teammate latches, opponent counter rucks, hand keeps ball back. You've allowed the tackled player to lay there and keep his hand on the ball (both common practice) but now you ping him?

  6. #26

    Referees in America
    smeagol's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CARFU RS
    Join Date
    20 Apr 12
    Posts
    357
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    16

    Default Re: latching

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    Real scenario (maybe). Tackle, ball placed well back, keeps hand on ball, teammate latches, opponent counter rucks, hand keeps ball back. You've allowed the tackled player to lay there and keep his hand on the ball (both common practice) but now you ping him?
    Once the ball is placed back, it better stay there. I'm find with a hand keeping it *stationary* as long as it doesn't materially impact the ruck and the BC doesn't play keepaway if the opposing side wins the rucks.

  7. #27
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,109
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    296

    Default Re: latching

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    Real scenario (maybe). Tackle, ball placed well back, keeps hand on ball, teammate latches, opponent counter rucks, hand keeps ball back. You've allowed the tackled player to lay there and keep his hand on the ball (both common practice) but now you ping him?
    You don't ping him if he moves the ball with his hand usually?

    Law refs 9.4, 13.3.b, 14.7.c, 15.15... I mean, it's practically a RC by now!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •