Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: latching

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,465
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1334

    Default latching

    Blue ball carrier is tackled and goes to ground presenting the ball in the conventional manner.

    Blue team mate is first at the breakdown and latches onto the tackled player in a strong and well shaped position - head up, head & shoulders above hips and weight clearly on own legs.

    Red opponent attempts to clean out and would do so successfully apart from the fact that the Blue team mate has used the tackled player as an anchor to prevent being cleaned out.

    Has Blue acted legally?
    Last edited by Dickie E; 18-08-19 at 07:08.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #2

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,719
    Thanks (Received)
    64
    Likes (Received)
    936

    Default Re: latching

    frankly Id say no. But this appears to have been a standard and acceptable practise for a couple of decades now

    didds

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    Coach Colts/ELRA 1&2
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    339
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    32

    Default Re: latching

    You could have pointed to tackle law 15.7(b) in 2017, but that has gone, and no one did anyway, as didds says.

  4. #4

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    751
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    120

    Default Re: latching

    In the USA, yes. From our GMG

    Screenshot_2019-08-18-11-44-23.jpg

  5. #5

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,382
    Thanks (Received)
    41
    Likes (Received)
    230

    Default Re: latching

    Interesting the tackler’s responsibilities include :
    14.5 e
    Allow the tackled player to move away from the ball.

    Yet other players don’t have this listed as a responsibility. Odd since allowing the tackled player to roll away is a player safety issue. What good is it, the tackler releasing if the next man in binds him to the forcoming ruck?
    Another not very well thought out/inadvertent Law change?
    Last edited by L'irlandais; 19-08-19 at 07:08.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,205
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    322

    Default Re: latching

    Blue hasn't rolled away/been allowed to roll away, preventing red contesting the ball. I penalise this.

  7. #7
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    466
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    45

    Default Re: latching

    Blue player is over the ball. As soon as red comes in, a ruck would be formed to contest the ball. No one is preventing this contest. Up the red to clear him out.

  8. #8
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,227
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    320

    Default Re: latching

    7. Tackled players must immediately :
    a. Make the ball available so that play can continue by releasing, passing or pushing the ball in any direction except forward. They may place the ball in any direction.
    b. Move away from the ball or get up.
    c. Ensure that they do not lie on, over or near the ball to prevent opposition players from gaining possession of it.
    Sanction : Penalty.


    If we allow players to violate Law 14.7, which we universally do, then why would you PK his support for "latching" and thus preventing him from obeying 14.7 (b)?

    Sevens has this just right. Powerful counter-rucking teams (Fiji & Kenya) can win this contest when the latcher is a small player but won't challenge a strong player with a good grip. It's a fair contest even though it's not to the letter of the law.

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,376
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    160

    Default Re: latching

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Blue ball carrier is tackled and goes to ground presenting the ball in the conventional manner.

    Blue team mate is first at the breakdown and latches onto the tackled player in a strong and well shaped position - head up, head & shoulders above hips and weight clearly on own legs.

    Red opponent attempts to clean out and would do so successfully apart from the fact that the Blue team mate has used the tackled player as an anchor to prevent being cleaned out.

    Has Blue acted legally?
    In short, YES! Under the strict working of the Law the Blue player is not fully supporting his own weight because his hands are gripped onto his team mate.

    However, as Didd rightly says this has been common practice at the higher echelons over the years that it is often seen as acceptable - just like the squint feed at the scrum and the closing gaps at line out etc etc etc
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  10. #10

    Referees in Australia
    Drift's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    06 Jan 10
    Posts
    1,819
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    82

    Default Re: latching

    If he's on his feet and red can still try to counter ruck then play on.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •