But he didn't catch it, so we have a scenario where a player (not in touch) touches the ball (not in touch) and then it ends up in touch. If he had caught it then play on
OK, so going back to post #9.
The Law book seems to be saying that as long as the player who is in touch doesn't catch the ball, he/she is permitted to play the ball back onto the field of play. So it may be irrelavent if they jump or remain on the ground. So in the scenarios that the WoodyOne had, if they were able to knock the ball back into play, we should have a live ball play on scenario. Unless either a) I'm missing something or b) The Law Book is wrong![]()
I agree if he caught it it is play on, but if he did not catch it I htink you are back to looking at whether it made it to the plane of touch before he played it. If so, then he did not take it out (like a catcher) but if not, then obviously he put it out as he played it before it crossed the plane of touch.
Ah yes, I missed that part. Must've got distracted by a pesky customer hehe.
So glad I‘m almost never in a position to see, let alone make a judgement on these small margins!
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)