Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: uncontested maul

      
  1. #21
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    1,034
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    104
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: uncontested maul

    Surely could be called obstruction even if it wasn't a long arm transfer! Could be seen as a pk offence even if most would perhaps call it accidental offside.

  2. #22

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,499
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1524

    Default Re: uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by ChuckieB View Post
    Surely could be called obstruction even if it wasn't a long arm transfer! Could be seen as a pk offence even if most would perhaps call it accidental offside.
    AIUI WorldRugby deliberately designated it as NOT being a PK offence because of the uncertainty involved with teams trying to read their opponent's intentions.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  3. #23

    Referees in America
    smeagol's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CARFU RS
    Join Date
    20 Apr 12
    Posts
    362
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    16

    Default Re: uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by ChuckieB View Post
    Surely could be called obstruction even if it wasn't a long arm transfer! Could be seen as a pk offence even if most would perhaps call it accidental offside.
    Allowing the non-throwing team to bait a PK is not good for the game. Allowing the throwing team (that is trying to actually play rugby) to respond to the tactic by using the ball immediately seems the most equitable solution.

  4. #24

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,104
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1651

    Default Re: uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by mcroker View Post
    IRB (as it was then) issues a law clarfication 2014 covering non engagement in a maul following a lineout. Can't find it on the WR site, but this is what we have on our soc. website.

    IRB clarification for teams choosing not to engage at the lineout
    • if the defenders in the line out choose to not engage the line out drive by leaving the line out as a group, PK to attacking team;
    • if the defenders in the line out choose to not engage the line out drive by simply opening up a gap and creating space and not leaving the line out, the following process would be followed:
    • attackers would need to keep the ball with the front player, if they were to drive down-field (therefore play on, general play - defenders could either engage to form a maul, or tackle the ball carrier only);
    • if they had immediately passed it back to the player at the rear of the group, the referee would tell them to use it which they must do immediately...
    • if they drove forward with the ball at the back (did not release the ball), the referee would award a scrum for accidental offside rather than PK for obstruction.
    So the OP scenario is ... Play on

  5. #25
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    716
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    133

    Default Re: uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    So the OP scenario is ... Play on
    Can't determine that since we don't have enough information...we need to know what happened next in the OP scenario!

  6. #26

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    708
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    103

    Default Re: uncontested maul

    Does the attempted sack of the jumper create a maul?

  7. #27
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    716
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    133

    Default Re: uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    Does the attempted sack of the jumper create a maul?
    No.
    It also needs to happen immediately.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •