Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 36 of 36

Thread: Offside or not

      
  1. #31

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,445
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1689

    Default Re: Offside or not

    Quote Originally Posted by smeagol View Post
    Given how the law book defines a charge down, IME the player doing the charge down is intentionally playing the ball. If red kicks and green charges down, green has played the ball, ergo all red players are onside.
    In my scenario green didn't charge it down, the ball hit him, and the qu was whether a green player was offside

  2. #32

    Referees in America
    smeagol's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CARFU RS
    Join Date
    20 Apr 12
    Posts
    378
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    17

    Default Re: Offside or not

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    In my scenario green didn't charge it down, the ball hit him, and the qu was whether a green player was offside
    Per the letter of the law, I think it's play on. Prior to this thread if this happened in my game, I'd probably go for accidental offside.

  3. #33

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,910
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    334

    Default Re: Offside or not

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    ... I mean there's no offside for charging down and that's a deliberate act with a possible outcome ...
    There can clearly be offside from a charge down Flish.

    Going back to the OP, imagine if Green 10 had charged down the kick and it had gone forward and picked up by Green 7, then Green 7 would have been offside because he was in front of a team mate who last played the ball - by definition.

    There can't be a knock-on from a charge down, but there can definitely be offside.
    Last edited by Taff; 4 Weeks Ago at 16:09.

  4. #34

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,445
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1689

    Default Re: Offside or not

    well then, here's what the Laws at RFU had to say :

    In simple terms Green 7 is offside, as he is in front of the player (Green 10) who last played the ball, this includes being struck by the ball as you describe.
    I am not quite sure what answer I was expecting..

  5. #35

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,910
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    334

    Default Re: Offside or not

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    well then, here's what the Laws at RFU had to say. I am not quite sure what answer I was expecting..
    Then in that case, presumably the word "deliberately" will be dropped at the next re-write.

  6. #36

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,445
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1689

    Default Re: Offside or not

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    Then in that case, presumably the word "deliberately" will be dropped at the next re-write.
    Or they could change the offside Law to reference touched instead of played..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •