Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
Possibly it stopped the drive going over the goal line. Thus the situation now required the pick up whereas the player could just have dropped on the ball to score. If so very material.

Standing up should stop any drive because the referee is required to end the scrum immediately. If it was done by the defending team as they were being driven back over their own line (always assuming that the attacking team was in control of the ball) then I expect a PT to be awarded.