Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

      
  1. #21
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Nov 18
    Posts
    191
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    36

    Default Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    No both paras are wrong.. it does seem like the author misunderstood the 10m Law
    Oh yes, re-reading it now I can see you are quite right. Para 1 and para 2 both have it completely wrong!

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    What is the difference between just paying it, and charging it down
    This?
    1. The act of a charge down is one where an opposition player not in possession of the ball approaches a kicker at close quarters and makes an attempt to block the kick.

  2. #22

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,464
    Thanks (Received)
    166
    Likes (Received)
    1933

    Default Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    Yes that's from the 2011 clarification that misunderstood the 10m law. Is it ati valid

  3. #23
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    574
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    60

    Default Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    Here's another wee thought.

    2. If the ball is not charged down but is played or touches an opposition player and a player from the kicker’s side is within the 10 metre area in front of the kick that player is liable to penalty in accordance with Law 11.4(f)

    So, does this mean from the point of the kick or where the player catches it/ball lands? So I'm within 2ms of the kicker (but just in front), the ball is kicked just before the 10m line. The kick is blocked (intentionally played - but keeps going forward, from the kick). I run and catch the ball beyond the half way line.

    Am I offside as I was within 10m of the kick or am I fine as the kick has went 10m, so I'm outside the 10m rule when I play the ball?

  4. #24

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,464
    Thanks (Received)
    166
    Likes (Received)
    1933

    Default Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    Arab don't read that clarification .. it's all wrong. Read the Law a

  5. #25

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,000
    Thanks (Received)
    177
    Likes (Received)
    1382
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Arab don't read that clarification .. it's all wrong. Read the Law a
    You cant say "don't read a clarification". Whilst it is badly worded I think we can all use the clarification to see the law makers intent in how the law should be refereed.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  6. #26

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,464
    Thanks (Received)
    166
    Likes (Received)
    1933

    Default Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    You cant say "don't read a clarification". Whilst it is badly worded I think we can all use the clarification to see the law makers intent in how the law should be refereed.
    with respect to what is a chargedown ? yes, it is clear, but possibly out of date, given the scenario in the OP where the elite ref made the opposite decision .

    with respect to how the 10m Law works ? (which was Arab's concern ) no, don't read it, it's all wrong (as you pointed out, Phil)
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    It would be good if the clarification form the lawmakers made any sense in law?
    Last edited by crossref; 11-10-19 at 13:10.

  7. #27

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,000
    Thanks (Received)
    177
    Likes (Received)
    1382
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    with respect to what is a chargedown ? yes, it is clear, but possibly out of date, given the scenario in the OP where the elite ref made the opposite decision .

    with respect to how the 10m Law works ? (which was Arab's concern ) no, don't read it, it's all wrong (as you pointed out, Phil)

    But common sense tells us that "10m from the kick" is intended to say "10m from where the kick lands" (in line with the 10m law). Its poorly written but shouldn't be ignored.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  8. #28

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,464
    Thanks (Received)
    166
    Likes (Received)
    1933

    Default Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    As you said yourself it doesn't make any sense in law
    Best to just ignore it IMO

  9. #29

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,000
    Thanks (Received)
    177
    Likes (Received)
    1382
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    As you said yourself it doesn't make any sense in law
    Best to just ignore it IMO
    As with the laws....you have to learn to read between the lines

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  10. #30

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    780
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    127

    Default Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    No both paras are wrong.. it does seem like the author misunderstood the 10m Law

    The 2018 rewrite reinforced the notion that charge down must go forward.

    I wonder what WR think now .

    The key question is to know what, in this context

    This is known as the 10-metre law and still applies if the ball touches or is played by an opponent but not when the kick is charged down.


    What is the difference between just paying it, and charging it down
    Time and distance proximity to the kick. You'll know it when you see it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •