Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: PK Shot at goal and arrival of kicking tee. What would you do ?

      
  1. #1
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    413
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    48

    Default PK Shot at goal and arrival of kicking tee. What would you do ?

    Recent colts game I reffed. Will tell you what I did later.

    Final 6 minutes of game. Red v Blue. Red are leading 19-15. I award Blue a PK , 22 metres from goal about 20 metres in from touch. So, we have a kickable penalty. But Blue are 4 points behind.
    I make the mark, look over at blue captain who is in some debate with team-mates as to what they should choose. From behind me, a kicking tee is thrown and rolls to a point about 4 metres of the mark.
    Aware of the laws, I say "Captain, your coach has chosen a shot at goal. Kicking tee has arrived". I point towards the posts.
    He looks puzzled ; "But, Sir, that is not our kicking tee. That is red's!". I turn to look at red's coaching team who are grinning at me "Only a little joke, Sir. Sorry ! ha ha !" .
    ( Context :The game is a friendly colts game, hard-fought and players are taking it seriously )

    What do I do now?

  2. #2
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    920
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    185

    Default Re: PK Shot at goal and arrival of kicking tee. What would you do ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrouchTPEngage View Post

    What do I do now?
    Smile!

  3. #3

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,476
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    159

    Default Re: PK Shot at goal and arrival of kicking tee. What would you do ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrouchTPEngage View Post

    What do I do now?
    Smile, as Decorily says, then ask the skipper what he wants to do and make sure you add any lost time back.

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,965
    Thanks (Received)
    147
    Likes (Received)
    1816

    Default Re: PK Shot at goal and arrival of kicking tee. What would you do ?

    joking aside - this has to be one of the oddest rules in the Law book, enabling the coach to dictate a decision like this by sending a tee on.

    The French coaching team must have wished they had sent a tee on to the pitch on one occasion on Sunday (although perhaps he would have missed anyway!)

  5. #5
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    413
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    48

    Default Re: PK Shot at goal and arrival of kicking tee. What would you do ?

    OK. What I did :
    I did smile. But I wasn't 100% convinced they would have said nothing if they hadnt been caught.
    I move the kick 10 metres forward and let blue captain choose. He chose to kick to touch. ( They subsequently messed up their lineout anyway)
    Got me thinking, if this happened in a serious game, and I believed it was a serious attempt to deceive the ref, would I have yellow-carded someone ? Can I yellow-card a coach ? Not really much of a threat is it ?

  6. #6

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,965
    Thanks (Received)
    147
    Likes (Received)
    1816

    Default Re: PK Shot at goal and arrival of kicking tee. What would you do ?

    You can tell a coach to leave the enclosure. Not technically a RC but has same effect.

    Not sure this would be serious enough to merit that though

    You can't advance the PK though. Only an on field offence can be sanctioned on field.

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,965
    Thanks (Received)
    147
    Likes (Received)
    1816

    Default Re: PK Shot at goal and arrival of kicking tee. What would you do ?

    Of note here 6.29.b says the kicking tee can only come on AFTER the players have indicated a kick

  8. #8
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    413
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    48

    Default Re: PK Shot at goal and arrival of kicking tee. What would you do ?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Of note here 6.29.b says the kicking tee can only come on AFTER the players have indicated a kick
    I was thinking Law 8.20
    "The intention to kick can be communicated by the arrival of the kicking tee"

    EDIT
    Just re-read your law reference which is more about a "person" entering the field without the referees explicit permission.
    So the tee can arrive by itself to indicate a kick at goal, just that a person carrying a tee cannot enter.
    How odd ! And may explain why they used to have those little electric controlled cars carrying kicking tees
    :-)
    Last edited by CrouchTPEngage; 21-10-19 at 15:10.

  9. #9
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    920
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    185

    Default Re: PK Shot at goal and arrival of kicking tee. What would you do ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrouchTPEngage View Post
    I was thinking Law 8.20
    "The intention to kick can be communicated by the arrival of the kicking tee"
    St.Nigel seems to agree!

  10. #10

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,965
    Thanks (Received)
    147
    Likes (Received)
    1816

    Default Re: PK Shot at goal and arrival of kicking tee. What would you do ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrouchTPEngage View Post
    I was thinking Law 8.20
    "The intention to kick can be communicated by the arrival of the kicking tee"

    EDIT
    Just re-read your law reference which is more about a "person" entering the field without the referees explicit permission.
    So the tee can arrive by itself to indicate a kick at goal, just that a person carrying a tee cannot enter.
    How odd ! And may explain why they used to have those little electric controlled cars carrying kicking tees
    :-)
    A tee on its own clearly doesn't count otherwise a spectator could throw one on and force it

    So Law 6.29.b really seems to say the tee-man can only get the tee on the pitch after the decision is made

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •