Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Last Scrum and Tries Games RWC2019 Wales-France

      
  1. #1

    New Member


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    22 Oct 19
    Posts
    2
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Last Scrum and Tries Games RWC2019 Wales-France

    Dear Forum,

    I would like to ask a question regarding the last scrum which yielded to Moriarty's Wales try on the 74th minute.
    We see the Welsh Scrum half (number 21) unusual position right after the French scrum half introduce the ball in the scrum:
    - The Welsh scrum half placed himself beyond his opponent (French scrum half number 21): question. Is it allowed?
    - The Welsh scrum half seems (difficult to judge with the video) beyond the line of the ball: question, if he is, is it allowed?
    Below an article with the video I have looked (the action I am asking for is in the first second of the video)
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/...world-cup-exit

    Thank you.

  2. #2

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,463
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1333

    Default Re: Last Scrum and Tries Games RWC2019 Wales-France

    Quote Originally Posted by JoharyR View Post
    - The Welsh scrum half placed himself beyond his opponent (French scrum half number 21): question. Is it allowed?
    - The Welsh scrum half seems (difficult to judge with the video) beyond the line of the ball: question, if he is, is it allowed?
    [/URL]
    The Welsh scrum half needs to keep both feet behind the ball while it is in the scrum. Position to opponent is not relevant. From what I can see he looks fine.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  3. #3

    New Member


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    22 Oct 19
    Posts
    2
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Thumbs up Re: Last Scrum and Tries Games RWC2019 Wales-France

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    The Welsh scrum half needs to keep both feet behind the ball while it is in the scrum. Position to opponent is not relevant. From what I can see he looks fine.
    Thanks a lot for your quick and clear answer. Have a nice day.

  4. #4

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,454
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    156

    Default Re: Last Scrum and Tries Games RWC2019 Wales-France

    Quote Originally Posted by JoharyR View Post
    Dear Forum,

    I would like to ask a question regarding the last scrum which yielded to Moriarty's Wales try on the 74th minute.
    We see the Welsh Scrum half (number 21) unusual position right after the French scrum half introduce the ball in the scrum:
    - The Welsh scrum half placed himself beyond his opponent (French scrum half number 21): question. Is it allowed?
    - The Welsh scrum half seems (difficult to judge with the video) beyond the line of the ball: question, if he is, is it allowed?
    Below an article with the video I have looked (the action I am asking for is in the first second of the video)
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/...world-cup-exit

    Thank you.
    But the inference of this is that the French S/H must have been offside?

    Also it seems to me he was in the gap between the flanker and the no8 which we are toldis a no-go area for the s/h.

  5. #5

    Referees in Scotland
    Jolly Roger's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh - ERRS
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    19 Feb 10
    Posts
    181
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    52

    Default Re: Last Scrum and Tries Games RWC2019 Wales-France

    I am amazed that more has not been made of this. I saw the Wales SH as interfering with the France SH, in front of the ball, and in the gap between flanker and No8. I have freeze-framed on a number of occasions and am very surprised that nothing seems to have been said.
    He looked offside and interfering when I saw it on live TV and I remain of the same view.
    Keep smiling!

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    Wedgie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Kent
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    11 Oct 11
    Posts
    196
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    22

    Default Re: Last Scrum and Tries Games RWC2019 Wales-France

    R21 is probably offside (momentarily) when he takes a large stride to his right and gets at least one foot in front of the ball.

    But B7 (playing No8) changes his bind once the ball in, to go between lock and flanker. (so there is no gap between flanker and No.8) B7 then unbinds and lifts the ball at which point is stripped by R21

    B21 doesn't throw the ball in, he puts it on the hooker's foot

    B16 (playing hooker) pops up under pressure.

    (edit:all of which happened in ~ 4 seconds)

    And there are probably other offences. By both sides


    So which one do your penalise?
    Last edited by Wedgie; 23-10-19 at 13:10.

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    CNAR - CR marche
    Grade
    ---NON REFEREE OPTIONS---
    Join Date
    07 Apr 11
    Posts
    9
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Riferimento: Last Scrum and Tries Games RWC2019 Wales-France

    Quote Originally Posted by JoharyR View Post
    Dear Forum,

    I would like to ask a question regarding the last scrum which yielded to Moriarty's Wales try on the 74th minute.
    We see the Welsh Scrum half (number 21) unusual position right after the French scrum half introduce the ball in the scrum:
    - The Welsh scrum half placed himself beyond his opponent (French scrum half number 21): question. Is it allowed?
    - The Welsh scrum half seems (difficult to judge with the video) beyond the line of the ball: question, if he is, is it allowed?
    Below an article with the video I have looked (the action I am asking for is in the first second of the video)
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/...world-cup-exit

    Thank you.


    ...no space, no game...

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,554
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    342

    Default Re: Last Scrum and Tries Games RWC2019 Wales-France

    Quote Originally Posted by Wedgie View Post
    R21 is probably offside (momentarily) when he takes a large stride to his right and gets at least one foot in front of the ball.

    But B7 (playing No8) changes his bind once the ball in, to go between lock and flanker. (so there is no gap between flanker and No.8) B7 then unbinds and lifts the ball at which point is stripped by R21

    B21 doesn't throw the ball in, he puts it on the hooker's foot

    B16 (playing hooker) pops up under pressure.

    (edit:all of which happened in ~ 4 seconds)

    And there are probably other offences. By both sides


    So which one do your penalise?
    First offence.

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Wedgie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Kent
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    11 Oct 11
    Posts
    196
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    22

    Default Re: Last Scrum and Tries Games RWC2019 Wales-France

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    First offence.
    It would take a much braver man than I to penalize/FK a squint feed for the first time in a match, to a team 6 points up, on their 5m line with 5 mins left on the clock..

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,554
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    342

    Default Re: Last Scrum and Tries Games RWC2019 Wales-France

    Quote Originally Posted by Wedgie View Post
    It would take a much braver man than I to penalize/FK a squint feed for the first time in a match, to a team 6 points up, on their 5m line with 5 mins left on the clock..
    Why mention it then?

    Lets take the offences in order:

    0: B21 doesn't throw the ball in, he puts it on the hooker's foot - "we" don't care about this so we are ignoring it.

    1: B16 (playing hooker) pops up under pressure. Here's your first offence. Material? Almost ceretainly. Scrum dynamic changed.

    2: But B7 (playing No8) changes his bind once the ball in, to go between lock and flanker. (so there is no gap between flanker and No.8) B7 then unbinds and lifts the ball at which point is stripped by R21

    3: R21 is probably offside (momentarily) when he takes a large stride to his right and gets at least one foot in front of the ball.

    R21 is the 3rd (maybe 4th) offence. Why are we waiting for this one?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •