Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 56

Thread: Knock on inside a maul

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,779
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Knock on inside a maul

    So, generally speaking, is it a good thing for the game for TMO to be looking for a knock on inside a maul ?

    Or are them the Laws ..

  2. #2
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    871
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    167

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    What knock on?

  3. #3
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    871
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    167

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Presuming that you are referring to the England maul preceding the disallowed try.
    There didn't appear to be a knock on and probably not a forward pass either.
    The issue was that the ball was taken by a player who was in front of the last player to play the ball. So offside and in this case probably an accidental OS.

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,779
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    I must watch it again .. is that what they said ? It was someone offside , inside a maul ?

    So, second question : Is it, generally speaking, good for the game to have TMO watching for offside, inside a maul ?

    I mean if a ref made that call without a TMO everyone would think he was bonkers .
    From the expression on NO face I suspect he thought it was bonkers

  5. #5
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    871
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    167

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Is it not a good thing to get a correct and fair outcome by whatever means?
    Some people will always think a ref is 'bonkers'....maybe we are!

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    18 Nov 09
    Posts
    18
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    I was unconvinced by this TMO decision - surely you needed to see if Jamie George had his hands on the ball when the maul was formed, since it never seemed to leave his hands in the footage we were shown, on which the TMO made his decision.

    Glad it didn't make a difference in the end.

    Thought the TMO got all the other calls right, though (albeit I also thought the obstruction which chalked off the first try was so readily apparent I was surprised NO allowed play to continue).

  7. #7

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,375
    Thanks (Received)
    41
    Likes (Received)
    227

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul



    Nigel Owens’ decision can be heard in these short highlights.
    A player in front of the player carrying the ball must not play the ball. It’s not accidental as suggested in this thread.
    His logic is sound, you might debate that 10.1 is for open play and not the maul.
    A player is offside in open play if that player is in front of a team-mate who is carrying the ball or who last played it. An offside player must not interfere with play. This includes:

    Playing the ball.


    The ball can be passed to the back of the maul. Here it’s at the back of the maul, fumbled and played by a player in front of him.
    Last edited by L'irlandais; 26-10-19 at 18:10.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,200
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    321

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    There is no offside in a maul, is there? I mean, that would make no sense at all. Forward pass would be a valid call, but ripped back by black and regathered by white should be fine.

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,200
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    321

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Quote Originally Posted by L'irlandais View Post
    An offside player must not interfere with play. This includes:

    Playing the ball.
    ... and "preventing the opposition from playing as they wish"!

    Everyone in front of the ball carrier is interfering with play. It's a maul. That's why it specifies open play, and has separate laws for ruck, scrum, LO and maul.

  10. #10

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,779
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Kaplan thinks it was for a knock on

    The second decision, to disallow Ben Youngs’s try after an apparent knock-on in the maul preceding it, was far more difficult to judge. If you got 10 referees in a room there would probably be a split vote. Did Jamie George lose control of the ball? It is arguable either way. You could say the player behind him, Curry, knocks the ball forward but I’m not convinced George’s fingers ever come off the ball. It would be a highly technical call. I would have sided with the call that was made as, to me, it appears there is a slight knock that moves the ball from George’s before he regathers it.

    (Telegraph)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •