Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456
Results 51 to 56 of 56

Thread: Knock on inside a maul

      
  1. #51

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,798
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1768

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    didds is right.

    There is nothing in law 11 to say it only applies in general play.
    The ban on throwing forward includes passing the ball.
    The definition of pass includes handing the ball.

    Ergo you cannot hand the ball to a person in front of you, even if bound into a ruck.

    I would argue that a player bound into the ruck is not offside, unless the ball carrier has broken away (truck and trailer) under exception proving the rule.

    Obviously clarity is aided by ony using the word pass in the law and making the reader look that up in the definition to realise it includes handing.
    So the scrum was neither for a KO nor for accidental offside, it was for a forward pass ?

  2. #52

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,711
    Thanks (Received)
    64
    Likes (Received)
    935

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    So the scrum was neither for a KO nor for accidental offside, it was for a forward pass ?
    that is what IIRC NO's explanation to OF meant indeed.

    His signal was wrong on that basis if he didn't then signal a knock-on rather than a forward pass. hey ho. NO will get over that Im sure.

    didds

  3. #53

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,798
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1768

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    that is what IIRC NO's explanation to OF meant indeed.

    His signal was wrong on that basis if he didn't then signal a knock-on rather than a forward pass. hey ho. NO will get over that Im sure.

    didds
    I don't know.. NO also spoke about "losing control" which would be a knock on, not a forward pass

    . It comes from the player behind, [who] loses control of it, and’s taken by the player in front of him. So therefore we cannot allow the try because he was in front

  4. #54

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,711
    Thanks (Received)
    64
    Likes (Received)
    935

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    sorry =- typo


    "His signal was wrong on that basis if he then signaled a knock-on rather than a forward pass."

    is what I meant

  5. #55

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,453
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    156

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Looked to me like he dropped it and it was caught and kept off the ground by the player in front and his own hand which is why I think the KO was decided on.

  6. #56

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,798
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1768

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    Looked to me like he dropped it and it was caught and kept off the ground by the player in front and his own hand which is why I think the KO was decided on.
    Yes, I think that is exactly what the TMO saw, and gave.

    (Not convinced that actually happened, but it's hard to be sure)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •