Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 56

Thread: Knock on inside a maul

      
  1. #21
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    873
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    169

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Papers this morning are unanimous that what was given was a knock on , inside a maul
    Must be true so!

  2. #22
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    306
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    66

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    Best practice would be to allow play continue in this scenario.....very easy to go back and disallow try. ...not so simple to have blown up and discover afterwards that you have made a mistake and should have let play continue.
    After critiquing WB for not allowing the outcome to happen last week and then referring it upstairs (instead blowing and giving a PK for not releasing about 1/2 a sec before the non-score), I’m certainly not going to critique NB for allowing the outcome and referring it if he wasn’t sure... good reffing (and eventually also the fair outcome)

  3. #23

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks (Received)
    41
    Likes (Received)
    229

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Extended highlights now available.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  4. #24

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,792
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    Must be true so!
    Do you think it's not true ? What do you think the PK was for then ?

  5. #25
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    873
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    169

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Do you think it's not true ? What do you think the PK was for then ?
    Already gave my opinion.

  6. #26

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks (Received)
    41
    Likes (Received)
    229

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    The question is not so much what offense NO penalized, but rather was there a Clear and Obvious reason for the TMO to stick his nose in the match referee’s business? Given that 10.1 relates to open play and not at all to the maul, it would seem that next time he’d do well to stay out of the decision. Or post a law reference to support his position.

    Btw. In answer to your repeated question, unsurprisingly the pundits have (yet again) the wrong end of the stick. Did you listen to Nigel’s explanations to White Captain?
    It comes from the player behind, [who] loses control of it, and’s taken by the player in front of him. So therefore we cannot allow the try because he was in front. If he was behind no issue.
    He is describing 10.1, player in front of the player who last played the ball. It is not the losing the ball forward!
    Had the player who recovered the ball (lost forward) been behind the player who last played the ball he would have awarded the try. Seems clear to me what he meant.
    Last edited by L'irlandais; 27-10-19 at 18:10.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  7. #27

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,792
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Whatever that PK was for, it was not clear and obvious for me

  8. #28
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    873
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    169

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Whatever that PK was for, it was not clear and obvious for me
    Nor me!

  9. #29

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks (Received)
    41
    Likes (Received)
    229

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    I haven’t suggested it was C&O, only that it was clear that Nigel Owens disallowed the try, not for a knock on as suggested by the morning papers, but rather for a misreading of 10.1
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  10. #30
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    407
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    47

    Default Re: Knock on inside a maul

    Have now had the chance to re-watch it a few times, in slow-mo. Can't the TMO do that too? This is a semi-final of a World Cup for Pete's sake !

    As others have hinted, I am now convinced it is ripped backward by Brodie Retallick's hand and into Jamie George's leg.

    LAW 11.5 It is NOT a knock-on when : A player rips or knocks the ball from an opponent and the ball goes forward from the opponent’s hand or arm.


    I may be being unfair to the TMO who might have been under a lot more pressure than I am, now sitting at home in my armchair. But , at the time, it wasnt clear and obvious enough for me to disallow a try. Thank god it didnt affect the final result.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •