Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Tackle Release

      
  1. #1

    Probationer Member


    Soc/Assoc
    West Yorkshire
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    04 Nov 19
    Posts
    1
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Tackle Release

    Red team in possession of the ball gets tackled by a blue player, red player in possession of the ball now falls to his knees which are on the ground, yet the blue player (tackler) is still on his feet but doesn't release the red player. Referee penalises red team for not releasing the ball and awards the blue team a penalty. Is this the right decision or should the blue player have released the red player to let him released or present the ball bearing in mind the tackler wasn't on the ground and on his feet at all times.

  2. #2

    Referees in Australia
    Jarrod Burton's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    TRU
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jun 13
    Posts
    368
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    47

    Default Re: Tackle Release

    Sounds like Red should have been released by the tackler - while not technically a tackler (as they never went to ground) the tackler needs to release to legally have a crack at the ball.

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,524
    Thanks (Received)
    115
    Likes (Received)
    1380

    Default Re: Tackle Release

    this is a situation that requires some empathy from the referee. Often the Blue tackler (who is likely trying to keep the Red ball carrier up for a maul turnover) won't realise that the Red player has his knee/s on the ground. A loud shout of "tackle - release Blue 7" or similar is best.

    If Blue then still doesn't release it will be a PK to Red.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #4
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    09 Oct 18
    Posts
    61
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    6

    Default Re: Tackle Release

    unless he called it to be a ruck all ready then when the red player goes to ground and blue is still holding the ball red should let go.

  5. #5
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    923
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    186

    Default Re: Tackle Release

    OH....sweet J****!

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,657
    Thanks (Received)
    23
    Likes (Received)
    387

    Default Re: Tackle Release

    Quote Originally Posted by frenchie851 View Post
    unless he called it to be a ruck all ready then when the red player goes to ground and blue is still holding the ball red should let go.
    Why would you call ruck in the scenario you describe?



    FORMING A RUCK

    2. A ruck is formed when at least one player from each team are in contact, on their feet
    and over the ball which is on the ground.

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,409
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    168

    Default Re: Tackle Release

    Quote Originally Posted by Snowyref View Post
    Red team in possession of the ball gets tackled by a blue player, red player in possession of the ball now falls to his knees which are on the ground, yet the blue player (tackler) is still on his feet but doesn't release the red player. Referee penalises red team for not releasing the ball and awards the blue team a penalty. Is this the right decision or should the blue player have released the red player to let him released or present the ball bearing in mind the tackler wasn't on the ground and on his feet at all times.
    This is one of those odd scenarios where you have a tackle - as defined in Law because the ball carrier has been taken to ground (Law 14.1) - with a tackled player but no tackler (because he is still on his feet and referred to as an 'Other Player') see Law 14.4.c.i

    Despite the latter point the Tackle Law comes into play when the ball carrier gets his knee to ground. In that instance the tackler must release the ball carrier. See Law 14.8.a

    You often hear referees shout "Tackle!"

    A bit confusing but hope this all helps?
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  8. #8

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    502
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    132

    Default Re: Tackle Release

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    OH....sweet J****!
    why the exclamations? Seems a straightforward question with a straightforward answer. A rarity on this site.

  9. #9
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    923
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    186

    Default Re: Tackle Release

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    why the exclamations? Seems a straightforward question with a straightforward answer. A rarity on this site.
    Absolutely nothing wrong with the question in the OP....and yes posts 2 and 3 were helpful straightforward replies.

    My exclamation was in response to post number 4!

  10. #10

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    763
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    121

    Default Re: Tackle Release

    Quote Originally Posted by frenchie851 View Post
    unless he called it to be a ruck all ready then when the red player goes to ground and blue is still holding the ball red should let go.
    disagree

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •