Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Mark from a penalty

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    20 Jan 11
    Posts
    19
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Mark from a penalty

    I was wondering if the defending team can call a Mark if the attacking teams kick was from a penalty.

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,897
    Thanks (Received)
    160
    Likes (Received)
    1299
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    The only time you can't call a mark is from a kick off (start of first and second half) or from a restart after a score.

    So you CAN call a Mark from a Penalty Kick, Free Kick, or a 22 Drop Out.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  3. #3
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    874
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    169

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    As Phil says....

    I have had this scenario...I awarded the mark to the usual howls from the stand.

    Wasn't a bit sure if it was a correct call and checked it out after the game.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    20 Jan 11
    Posts
    19
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    Thanks guys, I just wanted to be sure!

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,819
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1775

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    I have had it as well.
    It's one of those things that happen rarely and when they do you pause and consult your inner Law Book :-)

  6. #6

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,915
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    338

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    The only time you can't call a mark is from a kick off (start of first and second half) or from a restart after a score.
    So you CAN call a Mark from a Penalty Kick, Free Kick, or a 22 Drop Out.
    A variation on Phil's wording, but I find the easiest way to remember it is

    You can call a Mark from ANY opponents kick apart from a Kick Off or a re-start at the centre.
    You'd be surprised how many coaches, players etc don't know this.

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,564
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    344

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    "If they have to kick. A mark you cannot pick."

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,469
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1335

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    "If they have to kick. A mark you cannot pick."
    not altogether useful:

    So you CAN call a Mark from a Penalty Kick, Free Kick, or a 22 Drop Out.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,564
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    344

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    You dont have to kick PKs etc you can tap and and pass etc. You have to kick the others at least 10 metres. Sorry I thought the inference was there. It made it clear to me when I was told it.

  10. #10
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    18 Oct 15
    Posts
    49
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    So a mark can be awarded/called from a attempted drop goal that goes short...? What about an attempt DG that bounces off posts and is caught cleanly by non kicking team?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •