Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Non Competing at a Maul

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    15 May 17
    Posts
    8
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Non Competing at a Maul

    At a line out the team in position catches the ball and sets up for a maul with the ball being moved back to the hind most player in the 'maul'.

    However the opposing team do not engage in the maul and do not bind in.

    What is the consequence from a law point of view?

    1.Is the ball available to be contested by the opposing team as a maul has not been created and therefore there is no offside line and we are on open play

    2. Are the players in front of the ball obstructing the opposition competing so a penalty should be awarded.

    3. Are the players in front of the ball offside so a penalty should be awarded.

    Thanks

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,779
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Re: Non Competing at a Maul


  3. #3

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,895
    Thanks (Received)
    160
    Likes (Received)
    1298
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Non Competing at a Maul

    The sequence of events goes something like this (Wolrd Rugby & RFU guidelines)....

    Did the defending team step backwards, therefore leaving the lineout early? If so penalise them.

    If the stepped sideways to avoid engaging (staying in the lineout), then transfer your attention to the attacking team.

    Is the ball at the front of the maul like thing? If so play on, no obstruction, they can trundle down the field. (a call of ball at the front no obstruction will help the defenders understand whats happening and keep the game going).

    If they moved it to the back and the defenders didn't engage, call "Use It", if they fail to use it, then its a scrum for accidental offside. (you may decide to upgrade this to a penalty if they keep doing it and don't learn, but to start with it should be a scrum).

    The defenders cannot come round and tackle the ball carrier because the ball hasn't left the lineout, so they would be offside.

    Hope that helps. I will now try and find the link to the guidance.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  4. #4
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    871
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    167

    Default Re: Non Competing at a Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post

    The defenders cannot come round and tackle the ball carrier because the ball hasn't left the lineout, so they would be offside.
    .
    I'd be wary of advising that it's certain that the ball hasn't left the lineout...in some cases it may indeed have left.

  5. #5

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,450
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1328

    Default Re: Non Competing at a Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    I'd be wary of advising that it's certain that the ball hasn't left the lineout...in some cases it may indeed have left.
    in which case defenders can come around and effectively prevent the 'use it' and/or tackle the ball carrier?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  6. #6
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    871
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    167

    Default Re: Non Competing at a Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    in which case defenders can come around and effectively prevent the 'use it' and/or tackle the ball carrier?
    Indeed.

  7. #7

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    751
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    120

    Default Re: Non Competing at a Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    If they moved it to the back and the defenders didn't engage, call "Use It", if they fail to use it, then its a scrum for accidental offside. (you may decide to upgrade this to a penalty if they keep doing it and don't learn, but to start with it should be a scrum).
    What if they move the ball to the back and then the defense engages? Scrum for accidental offside or PK for obstruction?

  8. #8

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,779
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Re: Non Competing at a Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    What if they move the ball to the back and then the defense engages? Scrum for accidental offside or PK for obstruction?
    did you take your arm down signalling lineout over?

  9. #9
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    871
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    167

    Default Re: Non Competing at a Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    did you take your arm down signalling lineout over?
    How is that relevant?

  10. #10

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,779
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Re: Non Competing at a Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    How is that relevant?
    If the lineout is over they can come round and get the ball.
    If the lineout is not over they can't leave it

    It's customary for the ref to signal when the lineout is over

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •