Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Offside oddities #3

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Nov 18
    Posts
    125
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    23

    Default Offside oddities #3

    (Arising from Dickie E's tongue in cheek suggestion on thread #1 that the 10m law would apply... but on a new thread so as not to hijack the original.)

    Does the 10m law apply if a kick goes backwards?

    [Edit] Oops! Just after posting this I thought it's a silly question because anyone behind the kicker is automatically onside, it's only people in front of the kicker who have to retire, right? Silly me ::blush::
    Last edited by belladonna; 2 Weeks Ago at 17:11.

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,532
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    337

    Default Re: Offside oddities #3

    To "correct" you scenario. Red 10 kicks the ball it goes 5m forward and then gets blown back so it is 5m BEHIND red 10. When the ball eas kicked Red 11 was infront of the ball. So he was offside under the 10 m law so needs to immediately retire to an onside position.

    When does he achieve that?

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,385
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    221

    Default Re: Offside oddities #3

    I believe as soon as he retires behind the kicker.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •