Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Do you have to match numbers in a lineout

      
  1. #1

    Probationer Member


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    23 Nov 19
    Posts
    1
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Do you have to match numbers in a lineout

    If the team throwing in the lineout have 2 lifters and 1 jumper, does the defensive team need to match them, or can they have 1 lifter 1 jumper in 7s

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    Pablo's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Buckinghamshire Referees Society
    Grade
    6
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    1,363
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    68

    Default Re: Do you have to match numbers in a lineout

    18.14 - Unless the throw is taken as soon as the lineout is formed, the non-throwing team may not have more players (but may have fewer players) in the lineout than the throwing team.

    (Also bear in mind 18.11 - A minimum of two players from each team are required to form a lineout.)

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    996
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    184

    Default Re: Do you have to match numbers in a lineout

    Team throwing in set maximum numbers in the line-out; minimum is two on each side.

    In 7s, particularly note that non-throwing side are required to have some-one between the touch-line and 5m line (18.15) until the ball is thrown in (18.26) but do not need to have a Receiver (18.16).
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •