Hi,
Ruling that caught everyone out at a recent game:
Kick off to start the match landed before 10m line, no defenders moved, and did not touch the ball. The ball bounced beyond the 10m line, and was then picked up by an attacking player who ran on and scored. The referee stated that the ball crossed the 10m line before it was played, and therefore legal.
Law 12.6 states: "The ball must reach the 10-metre line". This doesn't state that it must reach the 10m line without touching the ground first, although that is the common interpretation.
I've searched for opinion on this but not come across anything, hence my post. I would welcome your thoughts on the wording of the law, and interpretation of it...
Thanks!