Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 84

Thread: Offside by QTI

      
  1. #11

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,568
    Thanks (Received)
    111
    Likes (Received)
    1557

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Can you take a QTI if the was taken into touch by an opposition player carrying the ball? Usually it is only from kicks. I think that if it was allowed we’d soon end up with incidents of potential conflict between players.
    18.3 A player who carries the ball into touch must release the ball immediately so that a quick throw may be taken. Sanction:Penalty.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  2. #12

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    765
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    204

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    18.3 A player who carries the ball into touch must release the ball immediately so that a quick throw may be taken. Sanction:Penalty.
    Yes forgot that one. But I have always thought it was a rather difficult one to apply. If I was coaching a side I would suggest they release the ball away from the nearest opposition or hold on a bit until the ref blows. After all, how do you know if you’ve gone into touch if you’ve been tackled? You might have lost sense of where exactly you were.

  3. #13

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,835
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1777

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Yes forgot that one. But I have always thought it was a rather difficult one to apply. If I was coaching a side I would suggest they release the ball away from the nearest opposition or hold on a bit until the ref blows. After all, how do you know if you’ve gone into touch if you’ve been tackled? You might have lost sense of where exactly you were.
    you know this offence when you see it ..

  4. #14

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,475
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1335

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Re the OP. As far as I'm concerned, provided Red were complying with law prior to the ball going into touch (and they were because they were retiring and not interfering with play) then the event of the ball going into touch puts everyone onside.

    This is backed up by a WR video that showed an AB kick where players in front of the ball held their ground until ball went into touch at which time they moved forward to LoT.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #15
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,207
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    324

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    It is a rare situation, in that there were 2 chasers in position before the defence returned - but the average age was over 40 for both teams

    Possibly the reason it looks wrong is from a principle point of view - do you not want to reward blue for chasing 50m, tackling to prevent the clearance, and then maintaining continuity with the QTI in the time that red jogs back 40m? That seems like Phil's point about benefiting from being offside. I think there was a clarification recently about not benefiting from being offside when preventing the QTI, wasn't there?

  6. #16

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    486
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    121

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    I say they were onside. If not, at what point would they become onside? Say the QTI throws the ball 10m backwards, and the receiving player does not pass the ball. We don't expect red to remain stationary whilst blue move away from them, we would not expect them to have to run PAST blue before they can turn and tackle, ergo they must be onside all the time. It will look weird as they are beyond what would have been theLOT, and in this case closer to blue DB line than the blue receiver, but I don't see any other interpretation than open play and play on.

    Having said that, as it 'looks' weird and would probably get a crowd shouting in a big match, I can live with an interpretation that does not strictly exist in law that it's offside. Just not my preferred approach here.

  7. #17

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,457
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    156

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Re the OP. As far as I'm concerned, provided Red were complying with law prior to the ball going into touch (and they were because they were retiring and not interfering with play) then the event of the ball going into touch puts everyone onside.

    This is backed up by a WR video that showed an AB kick where players in front of the ball held their ground until ball went into touch at which time they moved forward to LoT.
    Dickie, I think it is the event of the ball being played back into the game by a QTI that puts folks onside. The ball going into touch has the potential to create new offside lines if a lineout is formed.

  8. #18

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,553
    Thanks (Received)
    61
    Likes (Received)
    490
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    I agree with Dickie. Once ball is in touch you can go/be wherever you like. The laws painstakenly describe offside at the lineout and once it forms....but say zip about offside on the Quick Throw. So there is no offside at QTI.
    Any offside BEFORE the ball goes into touch just needs to be managed.
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  9. #19
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    ELRA
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    273
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    76

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    I found this on the World Rugby website. See no. 2. But I don't understand what they are saying should happen?

    https://laws.worldrugby.org/?domain=9&guideline=5

  10. #20

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,835
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1777

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan_A View Post
    I found this on the World Rugby website. See no. 2. But I don't understand what they are saying should happen?

    https://laws.worldrugby.org/?domain=9&guideline=5
    It means that when your side kick, and you are in front of your kicker , you can't race forward to defend a possible QTI

    You need to stand still until the ball goes into touch (or otherwise put onside) and only then you can move forward

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •