Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789
Results 81 to 85 of 85

Thread: Offside by QTI

      
  1. #81

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,981
    Thanks (Received)
    147
    Likes (Received)
    1817

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    The ball going to touch puts red 5 onside
    Prior to that he was not acting illegally (not moving forward, not caught by 10m law) so is now free to defend the QTI

  2. #82

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,525
    Thanks (Received)
    115
    Likes (Received)
    1380

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    some more examples:

    1. Red #15 kicks from 1/2 way and ball rolls over Blue DBL. Blue elect to take drop out. All this time, Red #6 has been standing motionless on Blue 22 and is now in good position to contest at the dropout. Has he illegally benefited from being in an offside position?

    2. Red #14 scores in the corner but, just before he grounds the ball, support player (Red #13) runs past him and ends up at Blue DBL. As he runs back he picks up the ball to throw to kicker for a quick conversion attempt. Has he illegally benefited from being in an offside position?

    3. Red #10 kicks from 1/2 way and Blue #15, 5 metres from his own goal line, attempts to catch ball but knocks it on. Ref blows for scrum. All this time Red #3 has been standing motionless on Blue 22. He now has an easy 17 metre amble to the scrum while team mates have to run from half way. Has he illegally benefited from being in an offside position?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  3. #83

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,525
    Thanks (Received)
    115
    Likes (Received)
    1380

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    and finally:

    Red #15 kicks ball into Blue in-goal where it is grounded by Blue #15. Blue #15 tosses ball to Blue #10 on 22 for the drop out. Has he illegally benefited from being in an offside position?

    What are the implications if your answer is "no, a player can't be offside if the ball is dead"?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #84

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,981
    Thanks (Received)
    147
    Likes (Received)
    1817

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    it seems to me that
    - when the ball goes dead everyone is onside
    - BUT any player that was previously offside and offending (ie running forward toward the ball, or failing to retire under 10m Law) is not allowed to benefit from that (as per the WR video)

  5. #85
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    489
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    46

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Hey Fellas - we had a presentation from Elite ref Mike Adamson at our Soc Meeting. I asked him about this scenario. He agreed with you guys. My apologies, it just looks wrong to me. But I stand corrected.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •