Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 58

Thread: Offside by QTI

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,200
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    321

    Default Offside by QTI

    In a game I played in recently (old man rugby, not the highest pace):

    Blue kick deep from their own half, red 10 gathers the ball just inside his own 22 and gets bundled into touch by blue 6. As the teams are running back, blue 6 takes the QTI 2m back from the LOT to blue 12 - who immediately gets pounced on by a still-retreating red 5.

    Red were offside in open play from red 10's possession. Does the QTI count as a pass, putting everyone onside? Or does the opponent have to be onside to contest a QTI?

    At the time the ref blew for offside, and it seemed like the right call (although I was blue 4, so somewhat biased ). Afterwards, talking to the ref about it, I wasn't so sure.

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,788
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    I would say that when Blue took the QTI they were the last team to play the ball, so all red are onside ...

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    764
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    198

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    At a lineout, quick or ordinary, don’t offside lines apply, I think is the crux of the question?

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,788
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    At a lineout, quick or ordinary, don’t offside lines apply, I think is the crux of the question?
    I think no .. a QTI is open play

  5. #5

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,705
    Thanks (Received)
    64
    Likes (Received)
    933

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Zombie ball...

  6. #6

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,557
    Thanks (Received)
    111
    Likes (Received)
    1555

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    10.9 A player who is offside at a ruck, maul, scrum or lineout remains offside, even after the ruck, maul, scrum or lineout has ended.

    Does this law apply? It is not clear , but I suspect it does.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    764
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    198

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    10.9 A player who is offside at a ruck, maul, scrum or lineout remains offside, even after the ruck, maul, scrum or lineout has ended.

    Does this law apply? It is not clear , but I suspect it does.
    You are right OB... it is not clear and that is why I posed it as a question. The law you quote refers to perhaps a normal lineout setup I would think but wouldn’t swear to it. At a QTI we don’t have a lineout.

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,895
    Thanks (Received)
    160
    Likes (Received)
    1298
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    We have been down this road before and I am sure I asked for clarification on it.

    The result was that if you are offside when the ball goes into touch, then that's what you are penalised for; if you subsequently interfere with play. You cannot benefit from being in an offside position.
    Last edited by Phil E; 6 Days Ago at 16:12.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,788
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    We have been down this road before and I am sure I asked for clarification on it.

    The result was that if you are offside when the ball goes into touch, then that's what you are penalised for; if you subsequently interfere with play. You cannot benefit from being in an offside position.
    That was in context of being in front of your kicker, who was last to play the ball
    This is a slightly different scenario

  10. #10

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    764
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    198

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Can you take a QTI if the was taken into touch by an opposition player carrying the ball? Usually it is only from kicks. I think that if it was allowed we’d soon end up with incidents of potential conflict between players.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •