Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789101112 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 112

Thread: Offside by QTI

      
  1. #81

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,420
    Thanks (Received)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    1924

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    The ball going to touch puts red 5 onside
    Prior to that he was not acting illegally (not moving forward, not caught by 10m law) so is now free to defend the QTI

  2. #82

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,668
    Thanks (Received)
    120
    Likes (Received)
    1438

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    some more examples:

    1. Red #15 kicks from 1/2 way and ball rolls over Blue DBL. Blue elect to take drop out. All this time, Red #6 has been standing motionless on Blue 22 and is now in good position to contest at the dropout. Has he illegally benefited from being in an offside position?

    2. Red #14 scores in the corner but, just before he grounds the ball, support player (Red #13) runs past him and ends up at Blue DBL. As he runs back he picks up the ball to throw to kicker for a quick conversion attempt. Has he illegally benefited from being in an offside position?

    3. Red #10 kicks from 1/2 way and Blue #15, 5 metres from his own goal line, attempts to catch ball but knocks it on. Ref blows for scrum. All this time Red #3 has been standing motionless on Blue 22. He now has an easy 17 metre amble to the scrum while team mates have to run from half way. Has he illegally benefited from being in an offside position?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  3. #83

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,668
    Thanks (Received)
    120
    Likes (Received)
    1438

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    and finally:

    Red #15 kicks ball into Blue in-goal where it is grounded by Blue #15. Blue #15 tosses ball to Blue #10 on 22 for the drop out. Has he illegally benefited from being in an offside position?

    What are the implications if your answer is "no, a player can't be offside if the ball is dead"?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #84

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,420
    Thanks (Received)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    1924

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    it seems to me that
    - when the ball goes dead everyone is onside
    - BUT any player that was previously offside and offending (ie running forward toward the ball, or failing to retire under 10m Law) is not allowed to benefit from that (as per the WR video)

  5. #85
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    574
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    60

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Hey Fellas - we had a presentation from Elite ref Mike Adamson at our Soc Meeting. I asked him about this scenario. He agreed with you guys. My apologies, it just looks wrong to me. But I stand corrected.

  6. #86

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria -The North
    Grade
    Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    14 Mar 05
    Posts
    1,798
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    91

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Happened in text book fashion yesterday Scotland v England. 30m ahead of kicker but immediately at the line of touch .
    Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
    (Groucho Marx)

  7. #87

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,507
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    163

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by tim White View Post
    Happened in text book fashion yesterday Scotland v England. 30m ahead of kicker but immediately at the line of touch .
    The player was standing near the LOT. Although a lineout was taken, I think the ref warned the player not to interfere with a QT.

  8. #88

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,936
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    344

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    I queried this at one of our monthly meetings - admittedly at least 2 years ago, but I don't think there has been a clarification since.

    What I was told is that if we are going to penalise an offside player, then we need to do it before the ball goes to touch. Ie once the ball was in touch all the offside players couldn't be penalised.

    Personally if it was up to me, I reckon that all offside players should remain offside and "liable for sanction" until any Zombie ball dies. Ie while there is a possibility that a Zombie ball could come back to life at any moment, then all offside players remain offside and could be penalised if they move forward towards the ball or interfere with play. QTIs are an exciting part of the game and we should do what we can to encourage them.

    At one time (again at a monthly meeting) we were told one that there was going to be an announcement regarding this but we heard nothing since.

  9. #89

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,420
    Thanks (Received)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    1924

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    I queried this at one of our monthly meetings - admittedly at least 2 years ago, but I don't think there has been a clarification since.

    What I was told is that if we are going to penalise an offside player, then we need to do it before the ball goes to touch. Ie once the ball was in touch all the offside players couldn't be penalised..
    that can't be right as before the ball has gone into touch the offside player hasn't interfered with play in any way.

    I really think the correct answer to this is

    1 - when the ball is kicked the offside player must stand still (or if caught by the 10m law, retire)
    2 - once the ball is in touch the player may then advance to defend the QTI

    IF he fails to comply with (1) then he is penalised if he does (2) ..

    Preventative calls are in order here, to help them to not offend
    Last edited by crossref; 09-02-20 at 13:02.

  10. #90

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,936
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    344

    Default Re: Offside by QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    ... What I was told is that IF we are going to penalise an offside player, then we need to do it before the ball goes to touch.
    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    that can't be right as before the ball has gone into touch the offside player hasn't interfered with play in any way.
    You may have missed the key word Crossref.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •