Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Going to ground in a maul in U12s

      
  1. #1
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Join Date
    22 Aug 19
    Posts
    7
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Going to ground in a maul in U12s

    I found myself in a minority of one recently so I'd appreciate some clarification or guidance: Under English U12 regs, can the ball carrier go to ground once a maul has been called without being accused of collapsing the maul, if he releases the ball immediately.

    I can see this on the World Rugby site. https://laws.worldrugby.org/?law=16&language=EN but I'd appreciate some clarification.


    • A maul ends unsuccessfully when:
      • The ball becomes unplayable.
      • The maul collapses (not as a result of foul play).
      • The maul does not move towards a goal line for longer than five seconds and the ball does not emerge.
      • The ball-carrier goes to ground and the ball is not immediately available.

  2. #2

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,826
    Thanks (Received)
    72
    Likes (Received)
    971

    Default Re: Going to ground in a maul in U12s

    if there is nothing in U12 tegs specifically you follow the laws of the game.

    I have only seen a BC going to ground pinged as a Pk ONCE in my life. Frankly, that was an error. The oly person on the ground was the BC.

    IF the entire maul collapsed with it I could see some justification but that's not what happens normally/usually.

    didds

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    958
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    234

    Default Re: Going to ground in a maul in U12s

    Normal Maul law applies for a collapse at U12, possibly being even quicker on the whistle than normal for safeties sake, if goes to ground and playable then use it quickly, else turnover scrum

  4. #4
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Join Date
    22 Aug 19
    Posts
    7
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Going to ground in a maul in U12s

    Thanks. What happened was: Green BC went to ground (escaped from the maul) and the 4 or so remaining players in the maul didn't notice immediately and kept mauling. I thought the ball was available. Ref blew up immediately for collapsing the maul and awarded a free kick to yellow. Everyone else agreed with the ref who said that you can't do that. Ref did cite safety as the reason and I accept that player safety comes before everything else. My query is more to do with the letter of the law than its application.

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,152
    Thanks (Received)
    153
    Likes (Received)
    1857

    Default Re: Going to ground in a maul in U12s

    Ball carrier escapes from maul and no one notices .. . don't you love u12s

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    353
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    89

    Default Re: Going to ground in a maul in U12s

    ...and many U12 refs

  7. #7

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,826
    Thanks (Received)
    72
    Likes (Received)
    971

    Default Re: Going to ground in a maul in U12s

    Quote Originally Posted by BigSim View Post
    Thanks. What happened was: Green BC went to ground (escaped from the maul) and the 4 or so remaining players in the maul didn't notice immediately and kept mauling.
    So the ONLY player on the ground was the ball carrier who took himself there? And all other maulers remained on their feet safely?


    didds

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    lawsons's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    26 Sep 05
    Posts
    240
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Going to ground in a maul in U12s

    To me the ball carrier cannot collapse the maul because the ball could become immediately available and it is play on. However, everyone knows that once the ball goes to ground after a maul, everyone will pile on and the ball won't be playable. Hence it almost always is a turn over.

    In the situation you describe, it should have been play on, but if the ref decided to blow up for safety as he is on the ground with lots of boots around, then maybe it should have been a scrum to the ball carrier, due to safety issues rather than any offence.

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,703
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Received)
    401

    Default Re: Going to ground in a maul in U12s

    Quote Originally Posted by lawsons View Post
    To me the ball carrier cannot collapse the maul because the ball could become immediately available and it is play on. However, everyone knows that once the ball goes to ground after a maul, everyone will pile on and the ball won't be playable. Hence it almost always is a turn over.

    In the situation you describe, it should have been play on, but if the ref decided to blow up for safety as he is on the ground with lots of boots around, then maybe it should have been a scrum to the ball carrier, due to safety issues rather than any offence.
    16
    DURING A MAUL
    8. The ball-carrier in a maul may go to ground provided that player makes the ball available
    immediately. Sanction: Scrum


    Going to ground rather than collapsing the maul.

  10. #10

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,152
    Thanks (Received)
    153
    Likes (Received)
    1857

    Default Re: Going to ground in a maul in U12s

    Nowadays the ref calls that a taxkle

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •