Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Bath/Sharks - AR pushing water-carier

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    358
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    91

    Default Bath/Sharks - AR pushing water-carier

    The TJ in Bath/Sharks seems a tad aggressive towards the water-boy at 1:15:21 (45:32 game time). Hardly seems to be defusing the situation...

    https://www.premiershiprugby.com/wat...ership-round-7

  2. #2
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    972
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: Bath/Sharks - AR pushing water-carier

    Never a good idea to push anyone while acting as a match official....but having said that it seems the water carrier may have been acting in an inappropriate manner!
    I still wouldn't recommend putting hands on in that way.

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,024
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    188

    Default Re: Bath/Sharks - AR pushing water-carier

    After all the heat in another discussion, one might hope that the difference between a TJ and an AR would be well understood.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    358
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    91

    Default Re: Bath/Sharks - AR pushing water-carier

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    After all the heat in another discussion, one might hope that the difference between a TJ and an AR would be well understood.
    fair! I knew what I meant...

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,803
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    443

    Default Re: Bath/Sharks - AR pushing water-carier

    Inadvisable.

  6. #6

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,505
    Thanks (Received)
    47
    Likes (Received)
    242

    Default Re: Bath/Sharks - AR pushing water-carier

    Poor communication by the match referee with the TMO. He repeatedly asked for foorage of Red 6, when he meant Red 9. He finally said Red 9 without realizing his earlier mistake, which made things clear for the TMO. The match clock has been stopped a full two minutes now partly because of his misdirection with the wrong number. 1:17:11 (timestamp) on the full match clip. He is oblivious as to why she’s taking so long. Doh!

    He then went and spoke to *Red 6 saying the only thing that flared things up was you (?) flying in afterwards. *Jono Ross is team captain, but it still sounded like the referee had a confused recollection of events. The clear out on Faf de Klerk may not have been material, in terms of awarding the try, but I think the penalty could have gone the other way for the restart.
    Last edited by L'irlandais; 31-12-19 at 09:12.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    358
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    91

    Default Re: Bath/Sharks - AR pushing water-carier

    He'd been allowing clear-outs like that all game

  8. #8

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,505
    Thanks (Received)
    47
    Likes (Received)
    242

    Default Re: Bath/Sharks - AR pushing water-carier

    The Bath water carrier was trying to pull away one of his own team’s players.

    Red 9 took exception to the Bath player lying on his leg after the clear out, preventing him from covering back. How immaterial is preventing a defender from following play, in the run in to a try?
    Last edited by L'irlandais; 31-12-19 at 09:12.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •