Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Charging into A Maul

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Sri Lanka


    Soc/Assoc
    SLSRFR
    Grade
    CMO
    Join Date
    04 Mar 10
    Posts
    74
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Charging into A Maul

    9.20
    Dangerous play in a ruck or maul. a. A player must not charge into a ruck or maul. Charging includes any contact made without binding onto another player in the ruck or maul.

    7. Players joining a maul must:
    a. Do so from an onside position.
    b. Bind on to the hindmost player in the maul.

    Ruck

    6. A player may join alongside but not in front of the hindmost player.


    Question .

    Is there a need to come through the gate.
    Is there any me

    Can you charge onto your own player ?

    https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...HyfrscIgmeVZAc
    Vimal Perera

  2. #2

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,839
    Thanks (Received)
    72
    Likes (Received)
    974

    Default Re: Charging into A Maul

    I cant access that link? no permissions etc ?

  3. #3

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,934
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    344

    Default Re: Charging into A Maul

    The "Gate" applies to tackles. With Rucks and Mauls, I think the wording says a player must join from "behind or alongside" the hindmost player. If he joins the Ruck / Maul in front of the hindmost player then he is offside.

    And when a player does join a Ruck / Maul he must bind on before or simultaneously; ie he can't shoulder-charge into a Ruck or Maul and then bind on as an after-thought because that is dangerous. So if he shoulder charged his own team mate, I would still consider it dangerous - ie it's a Penalty Kick (PK) offence.
    Last edited by Taff; 10-01-20 at 10:01.

  4. #4

    Referees in Sri Lanka


    Soc/Assoc
    SLSRFR
    Grade
    CMO
    Join Date
    04 Mar 10
    Posts
    74
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Vimal Perera

  5. #5

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    146
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    49

    Default Re: Charging into A Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    The "Gate" applies to tackles. With Rucks and Mauls, I think the wording says a player must join from "behind or alongside" the hindmost player. If he joins the Ruck / Maul in front of the hindmost player then he is offside.

    And when a player does join a Ruck / Maul he must bind on before or simultaneously; ie he can't shoulder-charge into a Ruck or Maul and then bind on as an after-thought because that is dangerous. So if he shoulder charged his own team mate, I would still consider it dangerous - ie it's a Penalty Kick (PK) offence.

    I do agree that not joining a ruck/maul correctly is potentially dangerous play even if you take out your own team mate.

    I know this issue has been raised briefly before but applying the same logic, could Liam Williams have been sanctioned for dangerous play when taking out Dan Biggar in the air during the World Cup? When raised previously I dismissed this but following the logic through, if you are sanctioning a player for dangerous play why should that not extend to dangerous acts against a team-mate?

    Received wisdom is that no one would commit an act of foul/dangerous play on a team-mate however we do routinely tell players that despite their actions not being intentional they have, for instance, tackled an opponent high and then penalised them for dangerous play.

    I realise this is a slightly acute point of view but Taff's response made me question my previous position

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,978
    Thanks (Received)
    174
    Likes (Received)
    1365
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Charging into A Maul

    If lifters at a lineout drop their own player they can be penalised for it.
    If you put him up there, you are responsible for his safety.
    This used to be in the law book.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  7. #7

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,839
    Thanks (Received)
    72
    Likes (Received)
    974

    Default Re: Charging into A Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    If lifters at a lineout drop their own player they can be penalised for it.
    If you put him up there, you are responsible for his safety.
    This used to be in the law book.
    ISTR a Aussie that was lifted to receive a restart/KO and his lifters dropped him and he fell on his head... ring any bells? In a RWC I think?

    didds

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,431
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    180

    Default Re: Charging into A Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    ISTR a Aussie that was lifted to receive a restart/KO and his lifters dropped him and he fell on his head... ring any bells? In a RWC I think?

    didds
    Yes, the ball went right over his head and he overbalanced. IIRC the restart was a scrum to the team that kicked off on the presumption that - as no team were clearly in control - they were attacking/going forward.
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  9. #9

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,080
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    115
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Charging into A Maul

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    ISTR a Aussie that was lifted to receive a restart/KO and his lifters dropped him and he fell on his head... ring any bells? In a RWC I think?

    didds
    well punned, I think

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •