Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Bound in but not bound (Maul)

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,691
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    396

    Default Bound in but not bound (Maul)

    Maul is formed and a Yellow player is bound into the maul but both hands are free and above the bodies. He tries to compete for the ball managing to "swim" through the middle of the maul. He does not manage to win the ball.

    Would you allow or not?

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,127
    Thanks (Received)
    152
    Likes (Received)
    1852

    Default Re: Bound in but not bound (Maul)

    I would allow it

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,261
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    348

    Default Re: Bound in but not bound (Maul)

    If he got bound in legally, then I'd allow it.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    957
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    233

    Default Re: Bound in but not bound (Maul)

    Sure, if he got there legally and others are legally bound to hold him in there then fine, if he gets moved loose though straight out

  5. #5

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,818
    Thanks (Received)
    72
    Likes (Received)
    971

    Default Re: Bound in but not bound (Maul)

    if you are "inside" the maul and got there legally then you don't have to be bound to anybody at that point, and nobody has to be bound to you, to remain legal. You are caught in the maul.

    didds

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,691
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    396

    Default Re: Bound in but not bound (Maul)

    Thanks folks. I was pulled up by my assessor over that on Saturday. He accepted the player was bound in but said he could not "swim through"

  7. #7
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    944
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    188

    Default Re: Bound in but not bound (Maul)

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    Thanks folks. I was pulled up by my assessor over that on Saturday. He accepted the player was bound in but said he could not "swim through"
    Well if he's caught in as opposed to bound on then 'swimming' doesn't apply!
    The term 'swimming' refers to a player changing binds to move along/around the side of the maul.

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,691
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    396

    Default Re: Bound in but not bound (Maul)

    "Player bound in and then swimming through the maul" was the comment.



    I agree with your comment about swinmming around the maul.

  9. #9
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    944
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    188

    Default Re: Bound in but not bound (Maul)

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    "Player bound in and then swimming through the maul" was the comment.



    I agree with your comment about swinmming around the maul.
    A player caught in a maul does not also have to be bound and therefore is entitled to come through the maul, 'swimming' or otherwise.

    Therefore IMHO, as I understand it, the Assessor was incorrect.

  10. #10

    Referees in America
    Rank Bajin!
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Virginia (USA)
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,477
    Thanks (Received)
    61
    Likes (Received)
    797

    Default Re: Bound in but not bound (Maul)

    16.10 makes it clear (assuming he joined legally) that he is OK: All players in a maul must be caught in or bound to it and not just alongside it.

    What he does after isn't prohibited in law.
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •