Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

      
  1. #21

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,578
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by Not Kurt Weaver View Post

    Please feel free to tell how FU I am, but I decided to defend the referee
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Kurt Weaver View Post
    My contact in the WRU confirmed he was not penalized.
    Invitation accepted. My contact in ARU confirmed you really are FU if you can't see that as a PK against red - even in the modern era of showbiz rugby.
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  2. #22

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,237
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by menace View Post
    Invitation accepted. My contact in ARU confirmed you really are FU if you can't see that as a PK against red -i:
    What for is the PK?

    Quote Originally Posted by Not Kurt Weaver View Post
    My contact in the WRU confirmed he was not penalized.
    Please read my wise ass post carefully and identify the falsehood,

  3. #23
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    574

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    So fellas, I'm in 2 minds here.

    It looks almost like a TWOL situation, if it is Biggar is offside.
    and
    Its not a TWOL, therfore it's open play and Biggar is not offside.

    The Law says for a TWOL, there has to be at least 1 player over the ball. The illustration seems to suggest that this should be a BC support player, but I guess it could also apply to a tackler support player. There is a Blue player near the tackle area, but he's not "over the ball" technically.

    So here are my questions.

    1. Would a defending player (tackler support), create the TWOL

    If so Biggar would be offside if the answer to question 2 is no.

    2. If the defender is enough, would he need to actually be over the ball or would you ref it as a TWOL if he's near the ball.

    So in THIS scenario, if the answer is yes, we're in open play so Biggar is not offside and there is no Gate?

    Hopefully these make sense. Appreciate comments.

  4. #24

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,064

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    So fellas, I'm in 2 minds here.

    It looks almost like a TWOL situation, if it is Biggar is offside.
    and
    Its not a TWOL, therfore it's open play and Biggar is not offside.
    Don't overlook Law 14.8c
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  5. #25
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    Coach Colts/ELRA 1&2
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    379

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    My view:
    1. It's not a TWOL: no one on their feet over the ball.
    2. Biggar is in front of his team mate who last played the ball (the BC/tackled player - though red 7 appears to contact ball also but Biggar in front of him too) and thus liable to be penalised if he interfers with play whilst offside.
    3. Biggar never gets onside by himself nor by anyone else.
    4. Red 7 - an "other player" at the tackle - goes straight off his feet (PK)
    5. Biggar, never onside after the tackle, plays the ball (PK)
    6. Biggar is also an other player at the tackle, and does not arrive at the tackle from his own goal line (PK)

  6. #26

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,578
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by Not Kurt Weaver View Post
    What for is the PK?



    Please read my wise ass post carefully and identify the falsehood,
    Mine was equally a wise ass post...thought youd pick up on the multiple emoticons to show that. Seems funny you throw out a smart arse comment...get one back and now you get all pIssy.

    But on the offence...take your pick as others have said. But if you can't see it then with all your experience I cant help you and I know you wont shift so I wont bother trying.
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •