Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Learning
    Join Date
    04 Feb 20
    Posts
    2
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    First post; go gently!

    Wales v. Italy at weekend. 58 mins. Welsh attacking, Biggar got ahead of ball carrier who was tackled to ground. Tipuric cleared out the Italian tackler as he was getting back to feet. The ball was inside the hindmost foot (therefore within tackle area) but Biggar who was ahead came back and played it while coming back. I would have thought Tipurics clear out was either a ruck and created an offside line and if it wasn't a ruck, then it was a tackle and you have to approach from your own goal line. Play on and Tompkins scored directly from Biggars pass.

    So, should Biggar have been penalised? (If so, the fact that he wasn't is confusing, particularly given that it led to try on this occasion). Is 'Play on' justified here and if so on what grounds?

  2. #2

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,996
    Thanks (Received)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    1018

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Good spot.

    Id say no ruck, so tackle not through the gate. There is contact "over the ball" bit at least one player (blue) is not on his feet - he is the tackler that has "inadevertently" fallen Wales side and is just earth shifted out of the way by red.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sDs6...youtu.be&t=105

    didds
    Attached Images

  3. #3
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    973
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Hadn't seen this before...but certainly looks like he could have/should have been penalised on any one of 2 or 3 grounds.

  4. #4

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,997
    Thanks (Received)
    177
    Likes (Received)
    1380
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Oh dear.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  5. #5
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    973
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Oh dear.
    OK. ...I'll bite!
    Elaborate.

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,997
    Thanks (Received)
    177
    Likes (Received)
    1380
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    OK. ...I'll bite!
    Elaborate.
    Just "oh dear"...ref missed it.

    Sorry, wasn't meant to be cryptic.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  7. #7

    Referees in Holland


    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 2
    Join Date
    15 Oct 11
    Posts
    959
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    60

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Peep, PK to blue.

    "Dan, you must respect the gate at the breakdown, as we discussed in the pre-match briefing"

  8. #8
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    973
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Just "oh dear"...ref missed it.

    Sorry, wasn't meant to be cryptic.
    ......👍

  9. #9
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    973
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Or did the ref just make a mistake
    I honestly couldn't see myself missing that(and I do make some stupid mistakes ) ....it's almost like something I would instinctively blow and then second guess my decision!

  10. #10

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,419
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    198

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Why didn't the TMO call it? He clearly picked up the slightest of knock ons in the next clip!
    Ciaran Trainor

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •