Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    837
    Thanks (Received)
    40
    Likes (Received)
    228

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Would you penalise the S/H if he went round into the position that Biggar was to dive pass the ball?

  2. #12
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    972
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Would you penalise the S/H if he went round into the position that Biggar was to dive pass the ball?
    Personally no.....
    Presumably the SH, in your scenario, came from an onside position and just positioned himself for the pass.
    I'd apply the same logic (ish) as at the scrum.

  3. #13

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,110
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    122
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by irishref View Post

    "Dan, you must respect the gate at the breakdown, as we discussed in the pre-match briefing"
    I think he paid very close attention to PMB and may have been the only player to do so.

    I've watched this video countless times with stops and starts, PLAY ON for me.

  4. #14

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    561
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    167

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by Not Kurt Weaver View Post
    I think he paid very close attention to PMB and may have been the only player to do so.

    I've watched this video countless times with stops and starts, PLAY ON for me.
    Why? Looks like a ruck or TWOL, he did not get onside prior to playing the ball. What do you see that I do not?

  5. #15

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,110
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    122
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    Why? Looks like a ruck or TWOL, he did not get onside prior to playing the ball. What do you see that I do not?
    I see a extremely brief modern era ruck, ball is out of ruck ((red tackled player (who played ball post release) is not a ruck participant), offside line is hindmost foot of sole red rucking player, retiring Mr. Biggar gains onside with one foot on his teams side of offside line.

    Normally, I would have said MrBiggar would need two feet behind offside line, but i can no longer find that necessity in modern, current lawbook.

    Direction of entry post ruck is not a factor. It is a factor for entry to a tackle, or joining a ruck. Neither of these apply to a retiring Mr Biggar.

    Please feel free to tell how FU I am, but I decided to defend the referee

  6. #16

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    561
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    167

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Not sure what FU means, and I understand your argument I just disagree. I don't see the ball being out and I don't see Biggar ever getting back onside, but happy to agree to disagree. I like your well thought out rationale.

  7. #17

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,992
    Thanks (Received)
    177
    Likes (Received)
    1374
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Not through the gate and never onside.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  8. #18

    Referees in England
    Wedgie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Kent
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    11 Oct 11
    Posts
    204
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    26

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Not through the gate and never onside.

    I saw in real time and went back and looked on slomo 'cos it looked wrong at the time. But, referring to the words of my pre-match brief ("... any other player joins the breakdown from their own goal line...") I think led me astray to thinking 'Play on' at the time (Oh, and probably those daffodil-tinted glasses ;-).


    But my pre-match brief phrase and "through the gate" refer to *joining* the breakdown which, I don't think Biggar did. So revising 14.10 "Offside lines are created at a tackle..." and linking this with 10.1.a "Player offside...must not interfere with play include ...playing the ball" - which admittedly refers to open play and may not be appropriate - I think it now should have been a penalty.

  9. #19

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    837
    Thanks (Received)
    40
    Likes (Received)
    228

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Unfortunately my contact in the RFU laws department has confirmed that he should have been penalised.��
    Last edited by Phil E; 13-02-20 at 15:02.

  10. #20

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,110
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    122
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Wales Italy 6N 2020; was Biggar offside?

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Unfortunately my contact in the RFU laws department has confirmed that he should have been penalised.��
    My contact in the WRU confirmed he was not penalized.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •