Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Taken back ?

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria -The North
    Grade
    Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    14 Mar 05
    Posts
    1,792
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    88

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Who was in possession of the ball when it moved into the 22? If defender, then 'Carried back in'
    Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
    (Groucho Marx)

  2. #12
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,264
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    349

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    18.8.d
    "GAIN IN GROUND
    Either the defending team did not take the ball into their 22 or a tackle, ruck or maul took place within the 22 or an opponent touched the ball within the 22"

    If he's driven back and offloads, no gain. But the tackle/ruck resets that, so gain in ground.

  3. #13
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,696
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    400

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    Absolutely not. ...

    When a punch results in a player going to ground is it a tackle?
    A puch does not include "HELD and BROUGHT to ground". So it can't ever be a "tackle".

    A high (illegal) take MAY include being £HELD and BROUGHT to ground". Your comparison it flawed.

  4. #14

    Referees in England
    Pablo's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Buckinghamshire Referees Society
    Grade
    6
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    1,364
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    68

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    so if the same thing happened into in goal, you would give a 22 drop out?
    Pretty certain you’re trolling on this...

    But of course, the answer is no.

    For the purposes of carried back into the 22, the completion of a tackle inside the 22 resets the allowance of gain in ground.

    For carried into the in-goal, what matters
    Is whose possession the ball is in at the moment of crossing the goal line.

  5. #15

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,562
    Thanks (Received)
    115
    Likes (Received)
    1392

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Pretty certain you’re trolling on this...

    But of course, the answer is no.

    For the purposes of carried back into the 22, the completion of a tackle inside the 22 resets the allowance of gain in ground.

    For carried into the in-goal, what matters
    Is whose possession the ball is in at the moment of crossing the goal line.
    I was suggesting to the poster that it makes little sense to have different criteria & outcomes for similar situations. Is that trolling (a social media troll is someone who purposely says something controversial in order to get a rise out of other users.)?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  6. #16
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    518
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    52

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    There we go that should clarify. I have to admit I thought there would be no gain in ground, but I stand corrected.
    GAIN IN GROUND
    Either the defending team did not take the ball into their 22 or a tackle, ruck or maul took place within the 22 or an opponent touched the ball within the 22.
    A player kicks the ball directly into touch. Where the ball reaches the touchline. The non-kicking team.
    An opposition player, who is in touch, catches the ball. Where the ball reaches the touchline. The non-kicking team.
    A player kicks the ball from a free-kick awarded within the 22. Where the ball reaches the touchline. The non-kicking team.

  7. #17
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    West Yorkshire
    Grade
    Ref Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    16 May 16
    Posts
    70
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    15

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    A player driven back across the 22 but isn't tackled but does pass the ball - No Gain in Ground (line-out in-line with where the kicker was)
    A player driven back across the 22 where they are tackled and / or a ruck forms - Gain in Ground (line-out where the ball crosses the touchline)

  8. #18

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,140
    Thanks (Received)
    153
    Likes (Received)
    1855

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Elpablo73 View Post
    A player driven back across the 22 but isn't tackled but does pass the ball - No Gain in Ground (line-out in-line with where the kicker was)
    A player driven back across the 22 where they are tackled and / or a ruck forms - Gain in Ground (line-out where the ball crosses the touchline)
    Not quite sure I agree

    Tackle starts outside 22m and completed inside the 22m, and the ball carrier offloads (ie no ruck, no TWOL) . I think that is taken back .

  9. #19
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    West Yorkshire
    Grade
    Ref Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    16 May 16
    Posts
    70
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    15

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Crossref,


    I'm not quite understanding a tackle starting at one place and ending at another -


    1. For a tackle to occur, the ball-carrier is held and brought to ground by one or more opponents.
    2. Being brought to ground means that the ball-carrier is lying, sitting or has at least one knee on the ground or on another player who is on the ground.
    3. Being held means that a tackler must continue holding the ball-carrier until the ball carrier is on the ground.


    I will give you that point 3 can have movement, but for all 3 to be satisfied this will occur at a specific point and so we can use this as the defining mark of where a tackle has happened.


    If this is outside the 22 and due to conditions they slide inside the 22, the ball has been carried back. But if this point is inside the 22 the tackle has occurred within the 22 and the team should be allowed to kick the ball out on the full.

  10. #20

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,140
    Thanks (Received)
    153
    Likes (Received)
    1855

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post

    Tackle starts outside 22m and completed inside the 22m, and the ball carrier offloads (ie no ruck, no TWOL) . I think that is taken back .
    Quote Originally Posted by Elpablo73 View Post
    Crossref,
    I'm not quite understanding a tackle starting at one place and ending at another -

    .
    well, I was thinking of something like this ..

    Quote Originally Posted by Elpablo73 View Post
    If this is outside the 22 and due to conditions they slide inside the 22, the ball has been carried back..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •