Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Taken back ?

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,367
    Thanks (Received)
    161
    Likes (Received)
    1906

    Default Taken back ?

    White in possession just outside their own 22m
    Blue tackles White and drives him into the 22m, where the ruck forms
    White 9 kicks directly to touch.

    I would say that was taken back in, no gain in ground ?

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Manchester & District
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    04 Apr 12
    Posts
    143
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    37

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Haven't you answered your own question 'where the ruck forms' i.e. that is the last phase of play and it's inside the 22. LoT where the ball crosses the line.

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    833
    Thanks (Received)
    40
    Likes (Received)
    227

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    White in possession just outside their own 22m
    Blue tackles White and drives him into the 22m, where the ruck forms
    White 9 kicks directly to touch.

    I would say that was taken back in, no gain in ground ?
    Do you mean - drives him back and tackles him (goes to ground) and then a ruck forms? Can’t see how you can tackle someone and then drive them back. I assume you mean holds him up and drives him back?

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    England
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    08 Jul 16
    Posts
    18
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    I think this is covered in 18.8 (d)
    The ruck taking place inside the 22 creates a new phase of play which starts "inside" the 22 so they can kick it out directly.

  5. #5
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    972
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Do you mean - drives him back and tackles him (goes to ground) and then a ruck forms? Can’t see how you can tackle someone and then drive them back. I assume you mean holds him up and drives him back?
    Presumably the same way as one can 'high tackle' a ball carrier. ..ie it's not technically a tackle!

  6. #6

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    557
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    164

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    The commentators used the term 'driven back' and I agree with this. The BC did not actively retreat into their 22, the were tackled and the tackle took them back into the 22. I think it would be harsh to call this carried back.

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    833
    Thanks (Received)
    40
    Likes (Received)
    227

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    Presumably the same way as one can 'high tackle' a ball carrier. ..ie it's not technically a tackle!
    When the ‘high tackle’ results in the player going to ground it is a tackle. If not then it is an ‘attempted’ high tackle. Or a high attempt at a tackle. But I know what you mean.

  8. #8
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    972
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    When the ‘high tackle’ results in the player going to ground it is a tackle. .
    Absolutely not. ...

    When a punch results in a player going to ground is it a tackle?

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,632
    Thanks (Received)
    119
    Likes (Received)
    1415

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    The commentators used the term 'driven back' and I agree with this. The BC did not actively retreat into their 22, the were tackled and the tackle took them back into the 22. I think it would be harsh to call this carried back.
    so if the same thing happened into in goal, you would give a 22 drop out?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  10. #10

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,367
    Thanks (Received)
    161
    Likes (Received)
    1906

    Default Re: Taken back ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Do you mean - drives him back and tackles him (goes to ground) and then a ruck forms? Can’t see how you can tackle someone and then drive them back. I assume you mean holds him up and drives him back?
    As I remember it the tackle started outside the 22 and was completed inside the 22.

    I think that counts as carried back

    But it makes sense that when the ruck forms we have a new phase of play

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •