Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Pulling through at the tackle

      
  1. #1
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    London North
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    09 Feb 20
    Posts
    13
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Pulling through at the tackle

    Game yesterday.
    Red player tackled and taken to ground.
    Blue player, on his feat, contests for the ball and gains possession.
    As blue player gains possession, red player grabs hold of him and pulls him forward and to ground.
    Is this allowed?
    If a ruck is formed (which it hadn't) then this is not allowed....I think.

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,383
    Thanks (Received)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    1911

    Default Re: Pulling through at the tackle

    Are the second blue and red players the same ones ?(ie the ball carrier and tackler ) or are these two newly arriving players?

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,339
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    376

    Default Re: Pulling through at the tackle

    Sounds like red player is off his feet and tackling, penalty for blue.

  4. #4
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    London North
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    09 Feb 20
    Posts
    13
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Pulling through at the tackle

    These are 2 new players. The ball carrier and tackler were both still on the ground.

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    Coach Colts/ELRA 1&2
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    376
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Re: Pulling through at the tackle

    Quote Originally Posted by AKavanagh614 View Post
    These are 2 new players. The ball carrier and tackler were both still on the ground.
    In which case, the blue player has been tackled, and legally so if players have complied with 14.9.c

  6. #6
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    972
    Thanks (Received)
    24
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: Pulling through at the tackle

    Quote Originally Posted by AKavanagh614 View Post
    Game yesterday.
    Red player tackled and taken to ground.
    Blue player, on his feat, contests for the ball and gains possession.
    As blue player gains possession, red player grabs hold of him and pulls him forward and to ground.
    Is this allowed?
    If a ruck is formed (which it hadn't) then this is not allowed....I think.
    Is this not just a legal tackle?

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,642
    Thanks (Received)
    120
    Likes (Received)
    1420

    Default Re: Pulling through at the tackle

    Quote Originally Posted by Treadmore View Post
    In which case, the blue player has been tackled, and legally so if players have complied with 14.9.c
    Totally agree. As a bit of a tangent, what often happens in this situation (unfortunately) is Blue player then gets pinged for going off feet at breakdown.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #8

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,383
    Thanks (Received)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    1911

    Default Re: Pulling through at the tackle

    Quote Originally Posted by AKavanagh614 View Post
    These are 2 new players. The ball carrier and tackler were both still on the ground.
    So is this a tackle by blue followed by a tackle by red

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,339
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    376

    Default Re: Pulling through at the tackle

    Agreed, blue has possession and is tackled by red.

  10. #10
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    London North
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    09 Feb 20
    Posts
    13
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Pulling through at the tackle

    Thanks for the feedback. Blue player who gained possession of the ball at the tackle area was saying that he couldn't be pulled through by red, he could only be pushed towards his own try line. I said this only applied if a ruck had been formed i.e. "
    Possession may be won either by rucking or by pushing the opposing team off the ball.". My only doubt was whether the ruck is formed the moment the red player grabs hold of the blue player!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •