Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789
Results 81 to 87 of 87

Thread: Wales v France - Did the ref bottle it?

      
  1. #81
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    574
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    60

    Default Re: Wales v France - Did the ref bottle it?

    Just giving my 2 cents. My Initial thoughts were Deliberate knock on. I've seen them given in very similar circumstances against other teams. Both international and Pro teams. After watching the slo mo I was still convinced that I was correct. If I was presented with that situation, I'd have awarded the PT and the subsequent YC.

    I've watched that training video and based on that, it seems to be telling me that there's no such thing as a deliberate KO in a tackle, so based on the most of the decisions that I've seen are wrong. Personally, I can control my arms without looking what they're doing.

    It shouldn't matter where the head is and whether or not the tackler is looking at the ball or the ball carrier. If the hand (or arm) goes towards the ball and it's KO after the pass has gone it should be a PK at least. In the Wales v France situation I believe it should be Deliberate KO - Clear Overlap 5ms from the try line. PT and YC. I get that the video say it isn't so I'll defer to those who have more knowledge than I.

    As for the Scrum issues. If the ref has deemed it just a reset then that's one thing. But to have 3 Scrum Pens in a row 5m from the try line. In my opinion there was a very good chance of a try from that position, given the pressure being imposed so I think a PT should really be looked at there. I don't think it was, but that's just my opinion.

    I've seen pretty much the same circumstances but the Deliberate KO was given. And the PT was given for the scrum Penalty. I've no video ref as they were low level and not filmed.

  2. #82

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    843
    Thanks (Received)
    40
    Likes (Received)
    232

    Default Re: Wales v France - Did the ref bottle it?

    All I can say is that every referee so far in my circle of acquaintances, which includes some professional and semi-professional referees, believe the decision to not award a PT for the knock-on was incorrect. Even those that are totally anti-Welsh!

  3. #83
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,818
    Thanks (Received)
    31
    Likes (Received)
    451

    Default Re: Wales v France - Did the ref bottle it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post


    As for the Scrum issues. If the ref has deemed it just a reset then that's one thing. But to have 3 Scrum Pens in a row 5m from the try line. In my opinion there was a very good chance of a try from that position, given the pressure being imposed so I think a PT should really be looked at there. I don't think it was, but that's just my opiniod.

    The bold bit is not relevant. One any of the offences was a try probably. The first offence could be a PT by the same token the 20th might not be.

  4. #84

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,420
    Thanks (Received)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    1924

    Default Re: Wales v France - Did the ref bottle it?

    Who is Edriss who has been busy disliking lots of posts on this thread ?

    Curious user, joined 2017, never posted , their only activity has been on a small number of selected threads where they have gone to town with likes and dislikes

    http://www.rugbyrefs.com/member.php?...&page=1#thanks

    Previously agitated on the Crusaders thread , and on the question of whether it is inappropriate to call adult female rugby players girls

    Odd collection of topics to get steamed up about in three years

    Edriss, introduce yourself ?
    Last edited by crossref; 28-02-20 at 08:02.

  5. #85

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,370
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1530

    Default Re: Wales v France - Did the ref bottle it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    The bold bit is not relevant. One any of the offences was a try probably. The first offence could be a PT by the same token the 20th might not be.
    The way I was taught, a sequence of scrum PKs is not in and of itself a valid reason for awarding a PT. What should result from it is YCs.

    For a PT to be awarded for a scrum PK such as collapsing or standing up or illegally wheeling, the offending scrum has to be going backwards toward their one goal-line and the non-offending team would probably have scored a push-over try.
    "You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  6. #86

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    843
    Thanks (Received)
    40
    Likes (Received)
    232

    Default Re: Wales v France - Did the ref bottle it?

    Edriss - Any particular reason why you dislike my post?

  7. #87

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,370
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1530

    Default Re: Wales v France - Did the ref bottle it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Edriss - Any particular reason why you dislike my post?
    Because he's French?

    http://www.rugbyrefs.com/member.php?5406-Edriss
    "You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •